Constitutional Review Committee

Joint (NA + NCOP) Committee

Share this page:

The Constitutional Review Committee must review the Constitution annually and report on the review to the Assembly and the Council.

The Committee consists of 14 Assembly members and 9 Council members. The Constitutional Review Committee must invite the representatives of organised local government in the Council to designate one of them to attend, and to speak in, the Committee, but that representative may not vote

A question before the Constitutional Review Committee is decided when there is agreement on the question among the majority of its members.  


Rule 32 of the Joint Rules of Parliament (6th Edition) say that for the purposes of performing its functions committees may, subject to the Constitution, legislation, the other provisions of these rules and resolutions of the Assembly –

  • Summon any person to appear before it to give evidence on oath or affirmation, or to produce documents
  • Receive petitions, representations or submissions from interested persons or institutions
  • Permit oral evidence on petitions, representations, submissions and any other matter before the committee
  • Conduct public hearings
  • Consult any Assembly or Council committee or subcommittee, or any joint committee or subcommittee
  • Determine its own procedure
  • Meet at a venue determined by it, which may be a venue beyond the seat of Parliament
  • Meet on any and at any time, including –
    • On a day which is not a working day
    • On a day on which the Assembly is not sitting
    • At a time when the Assembly is not sitting, or
    • During a recess
  • Exercise any other powers assigned to it by the Constitution, legislation, the other provisions of these rules or resolutions of the Assembly

Joint committees may not initiate legislation

Working in Committees allows Parliament to:

  • Increase the amount of work that can be done
  • Ensure that issues can be debated in more detail than in plenary sessions
  • Increase the level of participation of Members of Parliament (MPs) in discussions
  • Enable MPs to develop expertise and in-depth knowledge of the specific Committee's area of work
  • Provide a platform for the public to present views directly to MPs, something which is not possible in a plenary sitting of Parliament
  • Provide an environment for Parliament to hear evidence and collect information related to the work of a specific Committee


Portfolio Committees
The National Assembly (NA) appoints from among its members a number of Portfolio Committees to shadow the work of the various national government departments.

Select Committees
The National Council of Provinces (NCOP) appoints from its permanent members a number of Select Committees to shadow the work of the various national government departments and to deal with Bills.

Because only 54 of the 90 NCOP Members are permanent delegates compared to the 400 of the NA, the Select Committees oversee the work of more than one national government department.

Public Accounts Committees
The National Assembly Standing Committee on Public Accounts acts as Parliament's watchdog over the way taxpayers' money is spent by the Executive. Every year the Auditor-General tables reports on the accounts and financial management of the various government departments and State institutions.

Heads of government departments and institutions are regularly called by this committee to report and account for expenditure. The Committee can recommend that the National Assembly takes corrective actions if necessary.

Internal Committees
The National Assembly has a number of internal committees that deal with matters affecting the running of Parliament. The Committees normally consist of senior Members of Parliament. The Rules Committee and its sub-committees deal with House rules, the budget of the House, support for Members, internal arrangements, and powers and privileges of members. Other internal Committees are the Programme Committee that plans the work of the Assembly, the Disciplinary Committee, and the Committee of Chairpersons.

The National Council of Provinces has its own domestic Committees. The Rules Committee and its subcommittees deal with the NCOP rules, the NCOP budget, parliamentary privileges, internal arrangements, international relations and delegated legislation. The Programme Committee plans the work of the NCOP and the Committee of Chairpersons make recommendations about the functioning of Committees and other NCOP forums.

Ad hoc Committees
Parliament or one of its Houses may appoint an ad hoc (temporary) Committee when a special task must be done. When the task is complete, the Committee is dissolved.


No results.

07 Dec 2023 Election of Co-Chairperson
12 May 2023 Outstanding submissions: consideration
31 Mar 2023 Proposed constitutional amendments: establishment of single human rights body & development of Khoi and San languages
17 Mar 2023 Proposed constitutional amendments: establishment of a separate institution to fight corruption; appointment & dismissal of senior NPA officials; appointment of judges & JSC composition
10 Mar 2023 Summary of Outstanding Submissions: Content Advisor briefing; First Term Programme

There are no questions at this time.

Bill name Date introduced Number Status
Constitution Eighteenth Amendment Bill 09 Sep 2021 B18-2021 Lapsed


2023 4 meetings Attendance rate 34%
2022 1 meetings 90%
2021 1 meetings 55%
2020 5 meetings 54%
2019 1 meetings 68%
Detailed attendance data by committee and MP Learn about our Attendance Methodology


There is no membership information at this time.


Secretary to Committee

Pilate Gwebu

Tel: 021 403 8257

Cell: 083 709 8395

E-mail: [email protected]

Executive Secretary

Zuraynah van der Meulen (NCOP)

Cell: 083 709 8411

Email: [email protected]

Esmerelda Forbes (NA)

Cell: 083 709 8435

Email: [email protected]

Share this page: