Election of co-chairpersons

Constitutional Review Committee

26 March 2015
Chairperson: Mr V Smith (ANC) (NA) and Mr L Nzimande (ANC) (NCOP
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee elected Mr Vincent Smith as the Co-Chairperson of the National Assembly component of the Joint Committee on Constitutional Review and Mr Lewis Nzimande as the Co-Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces component of the Committee.

Meeting report

Opening remarks
The stand in secretary greeted and welcomed everyone to the first meeting of the Joint Committee on Constitutional Review. He outlined the agenda and called for nominations for the National Assembly (NA) Co-Chairperson.

Election of Co-Chairpersons
Ms M Mothapo (ANC) nominated Mr V Smith (ANC)

Mr L Mpumlwana (ANC) seconded the nomination of Mr Smith.

As there were no further nominations, Mr Smith was duly elected as a Co-Chairperson. Following that election, the Committee moved on to elect a Co-Chairperson for the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

Ms T Motara (ANC; Gauteng) nominated Mr L Nzimande.

Mr T Motlashuping (ANC; North West) seconded the nomination.

Mr Nzimande was available for the nomination and was duly elected a Co-Chairperson.

As that was the only business of that day, the Co-Chairpersons took over the chairing of the meeting.

Co-Chairperson Smith said that seeing as there was really no other agenda for that day, members would only receive a proposed programme that the committee would deliberate on, on a future date.

Co-Chairperson Nzimande thanked the committee for his nomination and noted that the other remaining business was for the committee to establish a Joint Management Committee (JMC) which would then despatch the programme for the next committee meeting.

The meeting was then adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: