Question NW2203 to the Minister of Basic Education to ask the Minister of Basic Education

Share this page:

07 June 2023 - NW2203

Profile picture: Van Zyl, Ms A M

Van Zyl, Ms A M to ask the Minister of Basic Education to ask the Minister of Basic Education

(1)       How are the preferred subjects that qualify for the Funza Lushaka Bursary determined in each year; (2) whether the preferred subjects to qualify for the Funza Lushaka programme are determined according to each province; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so; (3) whether she will furnish Ms A M van Zyl with a list of preferred subjects of each province for the 2023 academic year; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details?


1. The Department of Basic Education (DBE) determines the priority subject areas using various means for the purposes of replacement of teachers into the correct phase and subject specialisation using the Funza Lushaka Bursary funding in training the teachers required in the sector.  Secondly, the Department caters for the newly introduced subjects (currently about 26 new subjects) which require new teachers are also considered. Furthermore, each PED submits their priority subjects to the Department of Basic Education. The lists are signed off by their respective Heads of Department (HODs).  The DBE then consolidates the list to draft the National list of priority subjects.

2. Yes.

3. The attached composite list of subjects are made available for any one that may require it.  The DBE on an annual basis disseminates the list of priority subjects to Higher Education Institutions, SACE, DHET, and other stakeholders. 

Source file