Question NW3472 to the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans

Share this page:

28 November 2018 - NW3472

Profile picture: Mhlongo, Mr P

Mhlongo, Mr P to ask the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans

What is the (a) total number of military bases that the SA National Defence Force has, (b) name of each military base, (c) what is the location of each military base, (d) size of each military base and (e) number of troops stationed at each military base?


(e) There is a total number of 335 Units in the South African National Defence Force (SANDF) with a total strength of 63 761 uniformed personnel (soldiers). Of the 63 761 soldiers in the SANDF, 16 705 are troops (riflemen, privates, airmen and sailors). Attached as Appendix A, is the breakdown in the number of regular force troops in regular force Unit and attached as Appendix B, is reserve force members in reserve and regular force Units. It must be noted in Appendix B that the strengths of the Units are divided into total strength of members in the Unit’s establishment as well as active strength, which is members that have been called up in the past 24 months.