Question NW1358 to the Minister of Home Affairs

Share this page:

25 May 2018 - NW1358

Profile picture: Waters, Mr M

Waters, Mr M to ask the Minister of Home Affairs

With regard to the presentation by the Electoral Commission (IEC) to the Portfolio Committee on Home Affairs on 27 February 2017, where the IEC stated that 72% of voters waited less than 15 minutes to vote and that the average waiting time to vote was 17 minutes in the 2016 Local Government Election, (a) who conducted the survey, (b) which voting stations were included in the survey and (c) in which province is each specified voting station located; (2) what was the average waiting time at voting stations in each specified province?


The Electoral Commission responded as follows:

(1)(a) Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC),

(1)(b-c) The list of voting stations and their location is attached as Annexure A.

- Eastern Cape – 15 minutes

  • Free State – 17 minutes
  • Gauteng – 22 minutes
  • KwaZulu Natal – 18 minutes
  • Limpopo – 13 minutes
  • Mpumalanga – 14 minutes
  • North West - 19 minutes
  • Northern Cape – 12 minutes
  • Western Cape – 13 minutes

Please also refer to the graph below for an illustration of average queuing times per province.

Source: HSRC Election Satisfaction Surveys (ESS) 2016.