Review of the 5th Parliament


The Fifth Parliament gave us a lot of “firsts” and was unprecedented in many ways.

While previous Parliaments were maligned for being dull, perfunctory and peripheral, this Parliament was in the limelight for various controversies and mayhem.

Putting together a comprehensive review of the Fifth Parliament was always going to be a difficult task and there will be gaps in the coverage of its myriad components.

Combining commentary and data, this review is a guide and analysis to the legislature’s activities, highlights and controversies from this period. In addition, there are perspectives on the functioning of Parliament, with the aim of raising standards. Alongside this are interviews with lawmakers, who share their insights. The result is a varied and, we believe, instructive publication where we aim to be forward-looking and address how Parliament can be strengthened.

PMG is non-partisan and has no stance on the opinion pieces published. Our contributors had complete freedom to express their views.

We would like to thank our contributors for their participation. Without them, this would not be possible. Every effort was made to get input from across the spectrum. While many responded to the invitation, not everyone took up the opportunity.

Parliament is a vital institution. We hope this will contribute to the broader debate about its role, stature and the impact it should have on all South Africans.

Special thanks to: Andisiwe Makinana l Asanda Nika l Ayesha Motala l Boingotlo Nthebe MP l Charel de Beer MP l Dalli Weyers l Deidre Carter MP l Eddie Makue MP l Farhat Essack MP l Gaile Fullard l Gary Pienaar l Hoodah Abrahams-Fayker l John Steenhuisen MP l Judith February l Lawson Naidoo l Lechesa Tsenoli MP l Liezl van der Merwe MP l Luvuyo Ngwayishe l Lynette Maart l Makhosi Khoza | Mandla Rayi MP l Martin Nicol l Mbuyiseni Ndlozi MP l Megan Lessing l Mike Law | Mike Pothier l Moira Levy l Monica de Souza Louw l Monique Doyle l Narend Singh MP l Nazier Paulsen MP l Priscilla Mantashe MP l Pumza Mokorotlo l Rashaad Alli l Richard Calland l Seán Muller l Steven Friedman l Thiyane Duda

Graphics, web development and design: Hannah Williams and Open Up
The content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 South Africa licence.