Shortlisting of candidates for the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) Council

This premium content has been made freely available


05 May 2015
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee as well as its Subcommittee met in camera to shortlist candidates to be interviewed to fill vacancies at the  Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) Council.

The report below is a summary of the decisions made and is taken from the Annoucement, Tablings and Committees (ATC).

Meeting report

Progress report of the Portfolio Committee on Communications on the filling of five vacancies on the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA), dated 5 May 2015

The Portfolio Committee on Communications, having considered two letters from the Minister of Communications:-  

  • informing the Assembly that the terms of office of Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa) councillors Mr William Currie and Mr Joseph Lebooa will expire on 30 September 2014 and the terms of office of Mr William Stucke and Ms Ntombizodwa Ndhlovu on 31 October 2014; and
  • informing the Assembly that she accepted the resignation of Dr Marcia Socikwa, a councillor of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa), with effect from 31 January 2015.

The Committee advertised the call for nominations of persons to serve on the ICASA Council. 85 nominations were received and considered by the Committee.

On 17 March 2015, the Committee adopted the following names as the subcommittee to shortlist and appoint:  (1) Hon JC Moloi-Moropa (Chairperson and ANC member); (2) Hon G Davis (DA); (3) Hon M Ndlozi (EFF); (4) Hon D Tsotetsi (ANC); (5) Hon M Tseli (ANC), (6) Hon M Kekana (ANC), and (7) Hon W Madisha (COPE).

On 5 May 2015, the subcommittee recommended to the Portfolio Committee that the following 12 candidates be shortlisted: (i) Mr Diratsagae Maoke; (ii) Mr Keabetswe Modimoeng; (iii) Mr Lance Rothschild; (iv) Mr Lumko Mtimde; (v) Mr Paris Mashile; (vi) Mr Peter Hlapolosa; (vii) Mr Peter Zimri; (viii) Mr Sello Molefe; (ix) Mr Thamsanqa Ntenteni; (x) Mr Yengwayo Kutta; (xi) Ms Botlenyana Mokhele; and (xii) Ms Dimakatso Qocha.

The interviews are scheduled to take place on Tuesday, 26 May 2015.

Report for information purposes.


No related


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: