Commission of Inquiry into Higher Education and Training: Fees Commission.

Call for comments opened 10 May 2016 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 31 May 2016)

Higher Education, Science and Technology

The Portfolio Committee on Higher Education and Training has called on South Africans to make written submissions to the Commission of Inquiry into Higher Education and Training, otherwise referred to as the Fees Commission.

Find here: Media Statement

The Commission was established by President Jacob Zuma following the Fees must Fall protests of 2015. The Commission is charged with determining the feasibility of free education in institutions of higher learning.

The Chairperson of the Committee, Ms Yvonne Phosa, said it is crucial for all stakeholders to make an input to the Commission as this is a national matter that has the potential for a long-term impact on higher education and the fiscus.

“This is a legislated process where the voices of people should be heard on what kind of higher education they want and what funding method is feasible. This is really about expanding and making higher education affordable to benefit all South Africans,” Ms Phosa said.

She said the Committee believes this process will allow different voices to raise issues on free higher quality education in a coordinated, structured and reasonable manner.

Members of the Commission include retired Judge Jonathan Arthur Heher (Chairperson); Mr Gregory Ally, a practising advocate; and Ms Leah Thabisile Khumalo, a practising attorney.

Submissions can be sent to magistrates’ offices countrywide. The deadline for submissions is 31 May. The Commission is expected to finalise its work in September, after which a report will be submitted to President Jacob Zuma within three months. Ms Phosa called on all stakeholders to make use of this opportunity.

Comments can be emailed to the Secretary at by no later than Tuesday, 31 May 2016.

Issued by Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the Chairperson, Ms Yvonne Phosa