ATC091028: Report Consideration of shortlist of candidates for appointment to the Board of South African National Space Agency

Science and Technology

Report of the Portfolio Committee on Science and Technology on the consideration of a shortlist of candidates for appointment to the Board of the South African National Space Agency Board, dated 28 October 2009:



The Portfolio Committee on Science and Technology, having considered the shortlist of candidates for appointment to the South African National Space Agency Board, in terms of section 7 (1)( c ) of the SA National Space Agency Act (Act No 36 of 2008), which was referred to the Committee on 7 October 2009, reports as follows:


The Committee held meetings on 21 and 28 October 2009 on the above subject. The Department received 94 applications and shortlisted 25 of the candidates. 


During the Committee’s deliberations on 21 October 2009, Members raised their concerns about the lack of shortlisted candidates, who fall within the ‘vulnerable groups’ with special needs, such as persons with disabilities. The Committee subsequently requested that the Department in future consult organisations working with persons with special needs, to identify potential candidates, for inclusion in the shortlist.


The Committee recommends that the House approves the following shortlist:


1.       Mr Anderson Francois

2.       Mr Annamalai Leeandran

3.       Mr Buthelezi Themba

4.       Prof De Wet Gideon

5.       Mr Fihlani Zola

6.       Dr Gavin (Adam) Elizabeth

7.       Ms Lawrence Joy-Marie

8.       Ms Limpitlaw Justine

9.       Mr Louw Rudolph

10.   Mr Magugumela Maurice T

11.   Mr Maine Potlaki

12.   Ms Majaja Nomfuneko

13.   Dr Malan J

14.   Captain Mamashela Mpho

15.   Dr Mc Kinnell Lee-Anne

16.   Ms Mogudi Louisa

17.   Mr Nepfumbada

18.   Mr Ratsheko Tsheko

19.   Dr Scholes Robert

20.   Ms Sekese Rosey

21.   Ms Sekgobela Simangele

22.   Ms Sharpe Carla

23.   Dr Siziba Kwanele Benett

24.   Ms Titi Vangile Brenda

25.   Mr Zondi MC


Subsequent to the meeting of 21 October 2009, the following ensued:


  1. Ms Limpitlaw Justine withdrew her application, due to personal circumstances.
  2. The Department approached the organisation, Disabled People South Africa who recommended the following candidate for inclusion on the shortlist:  Mr Vincent Gore.


Report to be considered.


No related documents