Adoption of Committee Programme

Share this page:

Meeting Summary

A summary of this committee meeting is not yet available.

Meeting report

LABOUR & PUBLIC ENTERPRISE SELECT COMMITTEE

LABOUR & PUBLIC ENTERPRISE SELECT COMMITTEE
3 SEPTEMBER 1999
ADOPTION OF PROGRAMME

Documents handed out:
Draft Programme -1999 (attached to end of minutes)

SUMMARY

The committee adopted the draft programme.

MINUTES

The draft programme consists mostly of joint meetings with the portfolio committee on communications, and three meetings with the portfolio committee on public enterprises. Confirmation has been received for all meetings dated until 21 September 1999, with the exception of the briefing by Transnet at 09h30 on 7 September 1999. All the meetings as from 22 September -1 December 1999 are joint meetings with the portfolio committee on communications.

Mr Phillip Nel of the North Western Cape expressed concern about the activities taking place next week, during their official provincial week. The Chairperson informed the committee that provincial duties take preference over committee duties. Mr S Fenyane assured the committee that letters have already been sent to the provinces, informing them about the committee activities which will be taking place during Provincial Week.

The committee adopted this programme.

Appendix 1:

SELECT COMMITTEE ON LABOUR AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES

DRAFT PROGRAMME - 1999 AS AT 31 AUGUST 1999

Monday, 30.08.99: Visit to the Institute for Satellite Application (Rouwteq; Briefing by DoC (Joint meeting with PC on Communications)

Monday, 06.09.99: Universal Service Agency; Dept of Communications (Joint meeting with PC on Communications)

Tuesday, 07.09.99: Briefing: Transnet (Joint meeting with PC on Public Enterprises) (to be confirmed)

Tuesday, 07.09.99: Briefings: MTN; SATRA (Joint meeting with PC on Communications)

Wednesday, 08.09.99: Briefings: Telkom - Sponsors lunch in Palm Court; Vodacom - Cocktails in BBP Room at 16:00

Sat-Mon, 11-13.09.99: Place advertisements for SABC Board appointments

Monday, 13.09.99: Briefings: South African Notional Editors Forum (to be confirmed); Print Media South Africa (to be confirmed)

Tuesday, 14.09.99: Briefing: Denel (Joint meeting with PC on Public Enterprises)

(to be confirmed)

Tuesday, 14.09.99: Briefing: Institute for the Advancement of Journalism (to be confirmed); South African Postal Services (confirmed)

Wednesday, 15.09.99: Briefing: (All to be confirmed) Press Gallery Association

Monday, 20.09.99: Briefings: IBA; NAB; Sentech

Tuesday, 21.09.99: Briefings: SABC; Tour of SABC & transmitter on mountain (to be confirmed); Gala Evening (See SABC letter)

Tuesday, 21.09.99: Briefing: Alexkor (Joint meeting with PC on Public Enterprises) (to be confirmed)

The following are joint meetings with the PC on Communications

Wednesday, 22.09.99: Briefing: 12:30 MNet & Multichoice

Thursday, 07.10.99: Closing date: SABC board nominations

Monday, 18.10.99: Public hearings on IBA/Satra merger

Tuesday, 19.10.99: Public hearings on IBA/Satra merger

Wednesday, 20.10.99: Public hearings on IBA/Satra merger

Friday, 22.10.99: Shortlisting SABC appointments

Monday, 25.10.99: IBA/Satra merger: Formal stages

Tuesday, 26.10.99: As above & adoption of report

Thursday, 28.10.99: Public hearing on Postal Services Amendment Bill

Monday, 29.10.99: Formal stages of Postal Services Amendment Bill

Monday, 08.11.99: Interviews - SABC Board

Tuesday, 09.11.99: Interviews - SABC Board

Wednesday, 10.11.99: Interviews - SABC Board

Thursday, 11.11.99: Interviews - SABC Board

Friday, 12.11.99: Interviews - SABC Board

Monday, 15.11.99: Public hearings: Telecommunications Amendment Bill

Tuesday, 16.11.99: As above

Wednesday, 17.11.99: As above

Thursday, 18.11.99: Finalise SABC Board appointments

Friday, 19.11.99: Public hearings: Telecommunications Amendment Bill

Monday, 29.11.99: Telecommunications Amendment Bill:

Tuesday, 30.11.99: Select Committee to deal with above Bill (to be confirmed)

Wednesday, 01.12.99: Finalise above (report)

Meetings with Eskom, Safcol, Aventura to be confirmed.

 

Audio

No related

Documents

No related documents

Present

  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting
Share this page: