Election of Chairperson

Meeting Summary

Members elected Dr Mathole Motshekga as Chairperson of the Ad Hoc Committee. There were no objections or further nominations

Dr Motshekga accepted the nomination.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

Mr Vhonani Ramaano, Committee Secretary, said the process would allow the Committee to elect one of its Members as Chairperson of the Committee.

He opened the floor for nominations and indicated that if there was more than one nomination, Members would have to vote by a show of hands.

Ms R Lesoma (ANC) nominated Dr M Motshekga (ANC) as Chairperson of the Committee.

Mr R Moroatshehla (ANC) seconded the nomination.

There were no objections or further nominations.

Dr Motshekga accepted the nomination.

Remarks by the Chairperson

Dr Motshekga thanked Members for the confidence they had in him. He said the establishment of the Committee was a great step for the hard-won democracy and to carry out the beliefs of Nelson Mandela that there must be no oppression of one race by another. The establishment of the Committee would send a strong message to the people and world that the ANC-led government would resolve to address the challenges of poverty, inequality and unemployment, and that it would complete its work within the stipulated timeframe.

The Ad Hoc Committee would ensure all submissions receive equal weight and would put the interests of South Africa and her economic well-being on top of the agenda.

The Committee would meet soon to discuss its draft programme.

The meeting was adjourned.



Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: