Election of Chairperson

Ad Hoc Committee to Amend Section 25 of the Constitution

12 February 2019
Chairperson: Ms T Didiza (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee met to elect its Chairperson. Ms Thokozile Didiza (ANC) was elected to chair the ad hoc Committee. It was also agreed that Committee programme would be discussed on 22 February 2019.

The Committee also agreed to instruct the chief whips forum to engage on the matter of other smaller party representation on the ad hoc Committee and that the decision be published in the Announcements, Tablings and Committees (ATC) before 22 February 2019.

Meeting report

Opening Remarks
Mr Vhonani Ramaano, Committee Secretary, welcomed Members noting the agenda. He said the split in voting members was 6 from the ANC, 2 from the DA, 1 from the EFF and 2 from the remaining parties, with 14 non-voting members- two from the ANC, one from the DA, one from the EFF and 10 from other parties. The Committee would note that the IFP had 2 voting members representing the other unnamed political parties, possibly that issue would need to be discussed further to allow the other parties to be represented in the Committee.

Election of Chairperson
Mr Ramaano requested the Committee to nominate a Chairperson.

Mr P Mnguni (ANC) nominated Ms T Didiza (ANC) to be the Chairperson of the Committee.

Ms L Maseko(ANC) seconded the nomination of Ms Didiza to chair the Committee.

In the absence of any other nomination Ms Didiza assumed the chairing duties.

Committee Programme
The Chairperson thanked the Committee for giving her the responsibility noting that the Committee’s work flowed directly from the adoption of the report on Section 25 of the Joint Constitutional Review Committee by Parliament late last year.

She proposed that the Committee meet on 22 February 2019 to discuss its programme.

The Committee agreed to the proposal.

Mr F Shivambu (EFF) proposed that the chief whips forum be directed to engage on the matter of other party representation on the Ad hoc Committee and the decision to be published in Announcements, Tablings and Committees (ATC) before the 22 February 2019. Moreover it had to be agreed that the second largest opposition party had to be given another voting spot on the Committee over and above the IFP if other smaller parties were not willing to participate.

The Chairperson nodded in agreement that the chief whips forum should engage on the matter.

The Chairperson said it had been a full year since the matter of possible constitutional amendment to allow for land expropriation without compensation had served before Parliament. She then thanked the Committee members for attending and the meeting was adjourned.



No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: