Election of Chairperson

NCOP Petitions and Executive Undertakings

01 July 2014
Chairperson: Mr S Thobejane (ANC; Limpopo)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

Mr S Thobejane (ANC) was elected  as a the Chairperson of the Select Committee on Petitions and Executive Undertakings. The DA expressed concern that Mr S Thobejane had been identified as the Chairperson of the Committee in a parliamentary booklet prior to his formal election.

Meeting report

Mr Tenda Madima, Committee Secretary, called for nominations for the position of the Chairperson of the Select Committee on Petitions and Executive Undertakings. 

Mr M Chetty (DA; KZN) referred to Minister Naledi Pandor’s comments earlier that morning that the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) was perceived as a rubber stamp. In light of this, he sought clarity concerning a booklet that he had received yesrterday, which had already identified who the chairperson of the Committee was yet Members were now asked to nominate candidates for that position.

Mr Madima replied that he was not aware of that booklet and had not seen it.

Mr J Julius (DA; Gauteng) said that they needed clarity on the matter because it was problematic to come to a meeting for the election of a Chairperson but one was already appointed beforehand.

Ms Nomvula Giba, Unit Manager: Committee Section, said that the Committee Section was not privy to the document Mr Chetty was referring to and, would humbly asked the Member to refer the matter to the Chief Whip of the DA and the Chief Whip of the ANC so as to allow that process to move forward.

Mr M Mhlanga (ANC; Mpumalanga) nominated Mr Thobejane to be the Chairperson.

Mr D Ximbi (ANC; Western Cape) seconded the nomination of Mr Thobejane.

Mr Thobejane was elected as the Chairperson.

The Chairperson thanked the Committee for entrusting him with the job. He promised to work with all the Members of the Committee in the next five years.

Mr G Michalakis (DA; Free State) congratulated the Chairperson on behalf of his colleagues. He also promised to work with the Chairperson for the next five years.

The meeting was adjourned.



No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: