Election of Chairperson

Share this page:

Meeting Summary

Ms E Prins (ANC) was elected as Committee Chairperson.  

Meeting report

The Committee Secretary, Ms P Sibisi, introduced herself and opened the floor for nominations.

Mr J P Parkies (ANC) nominated Ms E Prins (ANC) for chairperson.

Mr O J Sefako (ANC) seconded the nomination.

There were not any objections or further nominations.

The Committee Secretary asked if Ms Prins accepts the nomination.

Ms E Prins accepted the nomination.

Ms Soyisi officially announced Ms Prins as the elected Chairperson of the Select Committee on Communications and Public Enterprises.

The members applauded.

Ms Prins took the chairperson seat and thanked the members for the honour and trust placed upon her. She hoped to live up to the expectations of the committee. Members need to be committed to the role of oversight to ensure service delivery of the highest standard. They had to work towards government's goal to create jobs and alleviate poverty in line with the National Development Plan  (NDP). She committed herself to run the committee on the basis of inclusivity. She looked forward to the Committee working together for the benefit of all South Africans. She thanked members once again.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: