Consideration of the list of recommended candidates for nomination for filling of vacancies in the Electoral Commission

Ad Hoc Committee in Filling of Vacancies in the Electoral Commission

10 October 2011
Chairperson: Adv P Holomisa (ANC
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

After consideration of the panel’s report and the candidates’ curriculum vitae, the Ad Hoc Committee recommended the following candidates for nomination as Electoral Commissioners:

Adv Pansy Tlakula
Mr Terry Ismael Tselane
Rev Bongani Blessings Finca
Ms Raenette Taljaard

Meeting report

Mr J Jeffrey (ANC) stated that his party’s primary concern was that the Independent Electoral Commission operated well and that no complaints of partiality were received from other political parties. Their bias was towards those associated with the Commission already. Therefore the following candidates were put forward: Adv Pansy Tlakula, Mr Terry Tselane, Rev Bongani Finca and Raenette Taljaard.

Ms A Lovemore (DA) seconded Mr Jeffrey.

Ms H Makhuba (IFP) suggested Rev Frank Chikane instead of Rev Finca. She endorsed other candidates.

Ms J Killian (COPE) seconded Ms H Makhuba. She suggested Rev Finca to be the alternate.

Ms C Dudley (ACDP) seconded Ms Kilian.

The Chairperson commented that the ACDP, COPE and IFP proposed Rev Finca or Rev Chikane as alternates. The rest are the same. He suggested that Rev Finca should be retained.

Ms Makhuba said in their last meeting it was agreed to have two alternate names.

The Chairperson objected saying that was never agreed upon though that motion was suggested.

Ms Killian stated as a Committee they had a long discussion on the issue of candidates who served for a very long time and those that were part-time. Explaining her preference for Rev Chikane, she cited continuity as a factor saying Rev Chikane had been involved in the matter before and had sound administrative experience- she added that this did not suggest that Rev Finca was not a suitable candidate.

Mr Jeffrey suggested no extra names should be added. He said all the candidates had indicated availability but the matter rested with the President. He supported the proposal of the DA.

Mr M Mnqasela (DA) said the Committee should appreciate that it had got good candidates and that the country was blessed.

The Chairperson stated the names of the candidates were forwarded to the National Assembly and that was a sign that they are trustworthy people and have got the support of the country.

The Committee finally agreed on: Adv Pansy Tlakula, Mr Terry Tselane, Ms Raenette Taljaard and Rev Bongani Finca.

The Chairperson read the minutes of the adoption report on nominated candidates for appointment as electoral commissioners.

The report was adopted unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned.


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: