SA Human Rights Commissioners: short-list of candidates for interviews

This premium content has been made freely available

Justice and Correctional Services

08 September 2009
Chairperson: Mr N Ramatlodi (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee had re-advertised the commissioner vacancies at the SA Human Rights Commission. In this meeting they considered the new nominations and added to their original short list of candidates. It was noted that there were many respondents to the second advert. All political parties present at the meeting suggested their preferred candidates. In conclusion there were 31 candidates on the revised short list.

The interview process would begin the following week and be completed by 17 September as the Committee aimed to table its list of recommended candidates before the National Assembly on 22 September 2009.

The parties agreed on the following short list of 31 candidates for interviews:
Ms Nomazotsho Memani
Mr Mochubela Jacob Seekoe
Mr Maxwell Moss
Ms Lindiwe Mokate
Advocate Lawrence Mabedle Mushwana
Ms Thembeka Thelma Pama
Ms Elsie Fanny Mahlangu (born Nkabinde)
Dr Wallace Mgoqi
Ms Janet Cherry
Ms Kristina Bentley
Mr Khehla Humphrey Kaizer Khoza
Professor Hussein Solomon
Professor Mzamo Alexander Gumbi
Professor Jeremy J Sarkin
Dr Gladstone S Baai
Advocate Tseliso Thipanyane
Ms Farieda Dollie 
Ms Pritima Osman
Mr Len Joubert
Judge Ralph Zulman
Dr Mohamed Alli Chicktay
Mr John Willis
Ms Carol Johnson
Dr Frederik van Heerden
Mr Mthunzi Ronald Ndima
Mr Robert Skosana
Dr Danfred James Titus
Adv Loyiso Mpumlwana
Ms Janet Love
Advocate Bokankatla Joseph Malatji
Mr Hanif Vally

Meeting report

Minutes for this committee meeting are not yet available.


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: