Nomination for Commissioners to the Commission for Gender Equality

Call for comments opened 20 November 2018 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 10 December 2018)

Appointment to the Commission for Gender Equality

The Ad Hoc Committee on the filling of vacancies in the Commission for Gender Equality invites the public and organisations to nominate suitable candidates for appointment to serve in the Commission for Gender Equality as Commissioners.

A list of applications/nominations received will be published on the parliamentary website to allow the public to comment on the suitability of candidates.

The candidates must be South African citizens who are fit and proper persons for appointment to the Commission and are broadly representative of South African community, have a record of commitment to the promotion of gender equality and have applicable knowledge of and experience in matters connected with the objects of the Commission.

Nomination must contain the full name, address/email address and contact details of the person or organisation making nomination, a signed acceptance of the nomination by nominee and a Curriculum Vitae (CV) providing the applicant/nominee’s:

  • Full name, ID number and gender
  • Contact details including physical address, telephone/cell phone number and email address
  • Relevant previous work experience (including relevant dates and organisations concerned, and
  • Academic qualifications.

Nominations must be sent to Miss Neliswa Nobatana at by no later than Monday, 10 December 2018.

For enquiries please contact Miss Neliswa Nobatana at tel: 021 403 3840, cell: 083 709 8472 and email:

The Commission has in terms of section 187 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 a mandate to promote respect for gender equality and protection, development and attainment of gender equality. It has powers and functions as regulated by national legislation to monitor, investigate, research, educate, lobby, advise and report on issues concerning gender equality.

The President will, on recommendation of Parliament, appoint a member to the Commission for a term of office not exceeding five years. The members of the Commission may be appointed as full-time or part-time. Any person, whose term of office as a member of the Commission has expired, may be reappointed for one additional term.

You can track the process in Parliament here