Public Input: Shortlisted CGE Candidates

Call for comments opened 22 February 2024 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 12 March 2024)

Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities

The Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities invites you to comment on the suitability of candidates shortlisted to fill six vacancies in the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE). The opportunity for public comment on the shortlisted candidates begins on Thursday, 22 February 2024 and ends on Tuesday, 12 March 2024.

The committee concluded a two-day shortlisting process to fill these vacancies (see here and here). The committee considered the geographic and racial representation of the candidates as well as gender and disability in keeping with the criteria as espoused in the Constitution and the Commission for Gender Equality Act No. 39 of 1996. Moreover, the committee had adopted the "Shortlisting criteria in the appointment of Commissioners for the Commission on Gender Equality", as presented by the legal advisor from the Office of the Institute Supporting Democracy, which was used as a guiding document. As such, the committee was able to shortlist 20 candidates out of 67 applications.

The correspondence received from the Speaker of the National Assembly dated 7 November 2023 indicates six members of the CGE finish their term of office in 2024.

The closing date for public comments on the shortlisted candidates is 12 March 2024. This is in accordance with section 59(1)(a) of the Constitution, which allows public participation in committee processes. A summary of each candidate's resume as received is uploaded on the parliamentary website. All members of the public are invited to submit their comments through an online form as indicated in the link provided

Comments can be emailed to Ms Neliswa Nobatana at [email protected] by no later than Tuesday, 12 March 2024.

Below are the names of the 20 candidates who have been shortlisted:
▪ Mr Mfundo Nomvungu
▪ Ms Mbalenhle Thwala
▪ Ms Fhatuwani Muswobi
▪ Ms Dibeela Gertrude Mothupi
▪ Mr Sphelele Smiso Khanyile
▪ Mr Sandile Ngobeni
▪ Ms Seehaam Samaai
▪ Ms Mulalo Grace Nemataheni
▪ HRH Princess Royale Eurika Mogane
▪ Dr Charnell Ruby Naidu
▪ Ms Ohara Ngoma-Diseko
▪ Mr Kamohelo Rodney Teele
▪ Mr Mandla Johannes Ngubeni
▪ Ms Nande Mheshe
▪ Mr Sicelo Emmanuel Dlamini
▪ Ms Ishara Kamini Bodasing
▪ Non Binary Marion LynnStevens
▪ Ms Renee Thompson
▪ Ms Yanga Malotana
▪ Ms Nomathamsanqa Maqoma

Issued by the Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities, Ms Nonhlanhla Ncube-Ndaba.