Nominations: Candidates for Appointment to the Electoral Commission

Call for comments opened 09 February 2023 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 06 March 2023)

The Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, in his capacity as the Chairperson of the Panel comprising representatives of the South African Human Rights Commission, the Commission for Gender Equality, and the Public Protector, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996 (Act No. 51 of 1996), hereby invites nominations for a vacancy of a member of the Electoral Commission.

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 read with the Electoral Commission Act, 1996 provides that members of the Commission must be men and women who:

• are South African citizens;

• are fit and proper persons to hold that office; and

• do not at that stage have a high party-political profile.

Members of the Commission are appointed by the President for a term of seven years.

Nominees must indicate their availability to serve full-time or part time.

Each candidate’s nomination(s), accompanied by a: motivation of suitability, if any, candidate’s written consent, copy of RSA identity document, and comprehensive curriculum vitae, must be submitted on or before 06 March 2023 to [email protected] and [email protected]

Enquiries: Ms Tebogo Phaahlamohlaka, Tel: 010 493 2687, alternatively [email protected] or [email protected]