Public input on Chief Justice Nominees

Call for comments opened 04 October 2021 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 15 October 2021)

Justice and Correctional Services

South Africans are invited to submit in writing any objections they may have regarding the nominees for the Chief Justice position.

Input can be submitted to and by 17:00 on Friday, 15 October 2021. 

In response to the call for public participation, the public made 148 submissions which consisted of 25 names. Some of these individuals featured in more than one submission. Of the 25 names, only 8 nominations met the criteria as set out in the call by the President. 

The criteria referred to above, stipulated the following: 
• A nomination letter, including the contact details of the nominator; 
• The nominee’s acceptance of the nomination and their contact details; 
• Letters of support for the nomination, including contact details of persons or entities that support the nomination, including at least one letter of support from a professional body of legal practitioners, non-governmental organisation working in the field of human rights, or other legal field; and 
• Any additional documentation that the person nominating the candidate for Chief Justice deems relevant. 

The Nominations Panel which is chaired by Judge Navanethem (Navi) Pillay assessed and scrutinised all submissions. 

The 8 names that qualified for nomination as set out in the criteria are, in alphabetical 

1. Judge President John Hlophe 
2. Justice Mbuyiseli Madlanga 
3. Justice Mandisa Maya 
4. Dr Wallace Amos Mgoqi (Nomination Declined)
5. Adv. Busisiwe Mkhwebane 
6. Judge President Dunstan Mlambo 
7. Adv. Alan Nelson, SC 
8. Deputy Chief Justice Raymond Zondo 

The biographies of the nominees are available here

The panel will consider objections before submitting a shortlist of three to five names to the President. The Panel is required to report to the President by Friday, 29 October 2021.

Presidency Media Statement

Panel Terms of Reference