Hydrographic Bill [B 17B-2018]

Call for comments opened 05 February 2019 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 01 March 2019)

NCOP Security and Justice

The Select Committee on Security and Justice invites you to submit written submissions on the Hydrographic Bill [B 17B-2018] (National Assembly– sec 75).

The Hydrographic Bill seeks, amongst other matters, to:
• provide for the establishment of the Hydrographic Office;
• provide for its objects, functions and the manner in which it is to be managed;
• provide for the appointment and powers of the Hydrographer and the staff in the Hydrographic Office;
• regulate the submission of hydrographic data;
• regulate the manner in which hydrographic survey marks and copyrights may be protected;
• provide for the limitation of civil liability;
• provide for the manner in which the income of the Hydrographic Office must be dealt with;
• provide for co-operation agreements.

Written submissions must be received by no later than 1 March 2019.

Comments can be emailed to Mr G Dixon at [email protected] by no later than Friday, 1 March 2019.

can be directed to Mr G Dixon on tel (021) 403 3771

Issued by Hon. SG Mthimunye, MP, Chairperson: Select Committee on Security and Justice.

The Bill emanates from the need to recognise and grant legislative status to the office of the Hydrographer which has been in existence within the South African Navy since 21 July 1954. The Republic of South Africa, as a member of the International Maritime Organisation and International Hydrographic Organisation, is the signatory to International Conventions relating to the monitoring of maritime safety. The International Maritime Organisation and International Hydrographic Organisations are responsible for the monitoring and effective regulation of the safe navigation of the ships and other modes of transport that are moving around the oceans or waterways of the member states.