Public Protector Candidates

Call for comments opened 12 July 2023 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 21 July 2023)

Appointment of Public Protector

The Ad Hoc Committee to Nominate a Person for Appointment as Public Protector invites members of the public and organisations to submit comments and/or objections to the list of candidates (see below) who have either been nominated or applied for the position.

Submissions must be addressed to Adv Vhonani Ramaano at [email protected] by no later than Friday, 21 July 2023.

The comments should test the suitability of the candidate based on the requirements prescribed in legislation and whether he/she is fit and proper to hold such a position.

The Committee will follow due process in validating qualifications and objections.

The committee will shortlist candidates on 26 July 2023 for interviews. Interviews of the selected candidates will take place between 21 and 25 August 2023.

View: Parliament Media Statement

View: Call for Nominations/Applications (Public Protector)

Redacted CVs of the candidates can be viewed below: 

  1. Ms N Beauchamp
  2. Adv NK Gcaleka
  3. Mr B Jones
  4. Adv O Josie
  5. Mr R Khoza
  6. Adv IT Khumalo
  7. Ms ENB Khwinana
  8. Ms JK Ledwaba
  9. Mr R Ledwaba
  10. Adv NM Litabe
  11. Ms M Lukhaimane
  12. Adv FT Maleka
  13. Ms NC Mampuru
  14. Adv S Mancotywa
  15. Mr LB Maphelela
  16. Adv L Marais
  17. Adv N Mbangeni
  18. Ms TC Mbhansa
  19. Adv HHS Mekwa
  20. Prof B Mmusinyane
  21. Ms M Mohlala-Mulaudzi
  22. Mr OTD Mokoto
  23. Adv TJ Moqechane
  24. Ms EK Mthimkhulu
  25. Ms T Mxenge
  26. Mr MM Ncongwane
  27. Ms ZNSO Nhlanyisa
  28. Adv KTT Ntsewa
  29. Ms T Semane
  30. Adv Z Taba
  31. Adv S Tebeile
  32. Mr I Tefanis
  33. Adv MI Thenga
  34. Adv TS Thipanyane
  35. Adv ML Tsineng
  36. Mr HK Tswago
  37. Mr M Vilakazi
  38. Adv S Zimema