Nominations: ICASA councilors

Call for comments opened 14 July 2021 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 23 July 2021)

Communications and Digital Technologies

Institutions and/or individuals are hereby invited to nominate persons to fill four vacancies in the ICASA Council, as established in terms of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Act, No. 13 of 2000 [as amended by Broadcasting Amendment Act, No 64 of 2002, Prevention and Combating of Corrupt Activities Act, No. 12 of 2004, the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Act, No. 3 of 2006 and the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Act No 2 of 2014]. Of the four vacancies, three will be filled immediately and one in January 2022 when the term of the relevant Councilor expires.

ICASA makes regulations and policies to govern broadcasting and telecommunications in the public interest, ensuring fairness and a diversity of views, and monitors the environment and enforce compliance with rules, regulations and policies, hears and decides on disputes and complaints by the industry, plans and manages the frequency spectrum and protects consumers from unfair business practices, poor quality services and harmful or inferior products.

Persons appointed to the Council must, in terms of section 5(3) of the ICASA Amendment Act, (a) be committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability on the part of those entrusted with the governance of a public service; and (b) when viewed collectively—(i) be representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic; and (ii) possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, amongst others, broadcasting, electronic communications and postal policy or operations, public policy development, electronic engineering, law, information technology, content in any form, consumer protection, education, economics, finance or any other related expertise or qualifications.

All applicants must be South African citizens permanently residing in the Republic.

Written nominations must contain the full name and address of the institution and/or individual making the nomination, the nominee’s signed acceptance of the nomination and his/her Curriculum Vitae, providing at least the following information:

• Full name, ID number and gender
• Contact address, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail address
• Previous experience (quoting dates and organisations concerned)
• Certified copies of academic qualifications and identity document.

Nominations must be addressed to Committee Secretary Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma at [email protected] y no later than Friday,23 July 2021 at 16:00

Enquiries please contact Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma on cell 083 709 8407

Closing date for nominations: Friday,23 July 2021 at 16:00.

Please note that nominees will be subjected to a qualifications check and security clearance. Late submissions will not be considered.

Issued by Mr. BM Maneli, MP: Chairperson, PC on Communications.