Fiscal Responsibility Bill

Call for comments opened 03 May 2021 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 24 May 2021)

Finance Standing Committee

The Standing Committee on Finance invites stakeholders and interested parties to submit written submissions on the Fiscal Responsibility Bill [B5 – 2020].

Comments must be submitted to the Committee Secretaries, Mr Allan Wicomb and Ms Teboho Sepanya (Standing Committee on Finance) at [email protected] or [email protected] by no later than 12:00 on Monday 24 May 2021

Those who want to make submissions at public hearings on Tuesday, 25 May 2021 should specifically request this. These hearings will be conducted through Zoom.


The Fiscal Responsibility Bill [B5 – 2020] aims to:

  • promote fiscal responsibility by obligating the Republic of South Africa to reduce its debt levels and its exposure to debt; to introduce fiscal rules for the management of debt and government guarantees; to provide for reporting requirements; to provide for the review of the fiscal rules; to provide for certain exemptions from the fiscal rules; to increase transparency and fiscal responsibility; and to provide for matters connected therewith.


Enquiries can be made with Mr Wicomb at 083 412 1475 or Ms Sepanya at 071 363 2349

Issued by Hon. MJ Maswanganyi, MP, Chairperson: Standing Committee on Finance (National Assembly)

How to write a submission