ATC090708: Report Consideration of short listed candidates for Human Sciences Research Council Board Appointment

Science and Technology

Report of the Portfolio Committee on Science and Technology on the consideration of a shortlist of candidates for appointment to the Board of the Human Sciences Research Council, dated 8 July 2009:


The Portfolio Committee on Science and Technology, having considered the shortlist of candidates for appointment to the Board of the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) in terms of section 5 of the HSRC Act (Act No 17 of 2008), which was referred to the Committee on 8 June 2009, reports as follows:


The Committee held meetings on 23 June, 1 July and 8 July 2009 on the above subject. The Act provides for a selection of up to 20 shortlisted candidates. The Department received 32 applications and shortlisted only 13 of the 32. The Committee was concerned that the list submitted by the Department did not incorporate the full set of criteria in the Act, and therefore recommended that the number be increased.


During its deliberations the Committee found that the criteria on which the 13 candidates were shortlisted, were not as prescribed in the Act, specifically on the issue of the demographics of the South African society. The Committee subsequently requested that the Department review the shortlist to include persons with the requisite academic and experiential qualification, which should form an important criterion. The Committee was presented with a supplemented list.


Based on the above, the Committee recommends that the House approves the following shortlist:


1.                         Ms PN Gasa

2.                         Prof R Hassan

3.                         Prof MT Leshabari

4.                         Dr P Gobodo-Madikizela

5.                         Mr TP Masobe

6.                         Dr FG Netswera

7.                         Ms P Ntombela-Nzimande

8.                         Prof T Pillay

9.                         Prof L Qalinge

10.                     Mr A Samassekou

11.                     Prof A Sawyerr

12.                     Dr S Zinn

13.                     Prof P Zulu

14.                     Prof A Lourens

15.                     Dr BO Tema

16.                     Prof P Naidoo

17.                     Prof EC Webster


The Committee, cognisant of the aspect of separation of powers, further notes that:


1.                   Within the science and technology portfolio there are considerable differences in the legislation governing the appointment of members to Boards.

2.                   There are differences across portfolios in respect of appointments of personnel to statuary bodies.


The Committee recommends that:


1.                   The Minister considers reviewing legislation with the purpose of bringing in line legislation, which has bearing on the appointment of members to Boards so that there is a uniform approach with regard to the appointment processes.

2.                   As the oversight authority, Parliament should consider facilitating discussion, research and review around the standardisation of legislation which deals with procedures for appointing Boards.


Report to be considered


No related documents