(1) I have been informed that of the remaining 9 SACAP Council members, 7 have qualifications in Architecture and their professional registration category is indicated in the last column:

NAME	COUNCIL POSITION	Professional Registration
		Category
Mr Charles Ntsindiso Nduku	President	Professional Architect
Ms Letsabisa Shongwe nèe	Deputy President	Professional Architect
Lerotholi		
Mr Kevin Bingham	Council Member	Professional Architect
Mr Vusi Phailane	Council Member	Professional Architect
	(State representative)	
Ms Mandisa Pepeta Daki	Council Member	Professional Architectural
		Technologist
Mr Mohammed Allie Mohidien	Council Member	Professional Architectural
		Draughtsperson
Dr Sitsabo Dlamini	Council Member	Professional Senior
		Architectural Technologist
Mr Lufuno motsherane	Council Member	Public representative
RG Nicholls	Council Member	Public representative

- (2) All the members of the current Council were appointed by the former Minister in 2018.
- (3) There are two vacancies in the Council that arose this year, when Ms Karuni Naidoo and Ms Lwazikazi Ngodwane vacated their positions. This follows the decision taken earlier by the Council to have the two members removed due to claims of causing disruptions in the Council and having violated the Council's Code of Conduct. The decision to remove them was put in abeyance to allow the conclusion of an investigation into allegations of improper leadership, sexism, bullying and harassment that were made against the male Council members by Ms Naidoo and Ms Ngodwane. After the conclusion of the investigation, which found that the claims by Ms Naidoo and Ms Ngodwane could not be substantiated, the Council then wrote to the Minister confirming the decision to have the two Council members removed, in terms of Sections 5(4); 6(1)(e) and (f); and 6(2)(a) of the Architectural Profession Act, 2000 (Act No.44 of 2000).

- (4) (a) Non-disclosures or confidentiality agreements are instruments of corporate governance policy. Such undertaking is for the purpose of safeguarding information that is regarded as the intellectual property of organisation. It also assists in ensuring the integrity of the decisions taken by the organisation.

  The intent of the confidentiality agreement is essentially, a duty not to disclose Council matters to non-Council members, unless Council authorises such disclosure.
- (4) (b) (i) Three Council members, in the 4<sup>th</sup> term Council, were dismissed by the erstwhile Minister. They are Mr. Y Luckan, Mr. R Ruiters and Mr. K Ranchod. At the time, the Council had been non-quorate with only five members remaining, including Mr. RW Lekota and Ms. GM Bolton. The three dismissed Council members challenged their removal through the court. They requested the court to set aside their dismissal and the decision by the Minister to appoint an additional five Council members to fill vacancies in the Council. Seeing that this would become a protracted process that would hamper the effective functioning of the Council, a compromise was reached between the former Minister and the three Council members, which was made a ruling by the court. It was agreed that the three Council members would be reinstated and serve until the end of the term of the Council.
  - (ii) Dismissals were mainly based on the refusal by the three Council members to be subjected to an independent investigation, following complaints to the Minister by various stakeholders with serious allegations of fraud, corruption, maladministration and racism, among others.