To acquire and manage a system of national parks which represents the indigenous wildlife, vegetation, landscapes and significant cultural assets of South Africa for the pride and benefit of the nation.



Relevant contact: Dr Marisa Coetzee

GM: Conservation Management Kruger National Park Private Bag X402 Skukuza 1350 Tel. 013-735 4361

Date: 04/12/2019

addo elephant

augrabies falls

cape peninsula

bontebok

agulhas

REF: KNP 16/1/2/3 -APNR 04.12.2019

Mr A Hare - Chair: APNR

Mr E Pierce – Warden Representative, APNR Cc:

SUBJECT: APNR animal off-takes request for 2019

The APNR's animal off-take request for 2020, received on 20 November 2019, has reference.

The Kruger National Park (KNP) has studied the APNR request (Addendum 1). The required information as per guideline (Addendum 2) has been submitted, and the requested quotas are within the ecological sustainability thresholds.

golden gate highlands

kgalagadi transfrontier

knysna

kruger

marakele

Recommendations:

TO:

1. KNP supports the requested animal off-takes for the APNR Reserves (Timbavati, Klaserie, Umbabat, Thornybush, Balule), for the properties party to the GLTFCA Cooperative Agreement for Conservation areas.

2. The approval of a leopard is subject to the allocation of a leopard tag, and the MTPA's approval.

- 3. The MTPA and LEDET will be responsible for the final approvals, and are requested to inform SANParks and the APNR entities in writing of final approved quotas.
- The APNR is requested to monitor and manage animal off-takes adaptively during the offtake season.
- 5. Animal off-take reports, as per Protocol and guidelines, to be submitted by the end of the animal off-take season.
- The APNR entities to ensure compliance with all Protocols.

7. The MTPA and LEDET to provide regulatory oversight during the off-take season

mountain zebra

namaqua

tankwa karoo

tsitsikamma

richtersveld

vaalbos

vhembe dongola

HOD: Scientific Services

Mr D Pienaar

Dr M Coetzee

GM: Conservation Management, KNP Date: 04/12/2019

west coast

Cc per email: Mr D Thwala (danny.twhala@sanparks.org); Mr K Maggs (ken.maggs@sanparks.org); Mr R Sowry (richard.sowry@sanparks.org); (sam.ferreira@sanparks.org); Whitfield Dr S Ferreira Mr S Μ (steven.whitfield@sanparks.org), Mr Renke (marius.renke@sanparks.org), Ms (cathy.creaver@sanparks.org); MTPA: Mr J Eksteen (johan@mtpa.co.za); Mr R de Lange (riaan@mtpa.co.za); LEDET: Mr J Kruger (krugerJW@ledet.gov.za); Mr E Moeng (moengET@ledet.gov.za); Mr L Wiggins (wigginslr@ledet.gov.za)

wilderness