

COMMITTEES P0 Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa

Tel: 27 (21) 403 2597 Fax: 27 (21) 403 3205 www.parliament.gov.za

## Committee for Section 194 Enquiry Chairperson: Mr QR Dyantyi, MP

Committee Secretary Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma Executive Secretary Mr Khaya Vellem

2 August 2023

Adv Winston Erasmus

## RE: COMMITTEE FOR S194 ENQUIRY: APPLICATION FOR RECONSIDERATION OF DECISION FOR THE CHAIRPERSON'S RECUSAL

Dear Sir,

I refer to your correspondence, dated 1 August 2023, in which you request that as Chairperson of the Committee, I reconsider the decision not to recuse myselfpursuant to Adv Mkhwebane's second recusal application lodged on 12 July 2023.

The matter has been fully considered based on all relevant facts to the recusal application. I have responded to all the grounds raised therein and provided reasons for my decision which was supported by the Committee. Accordingly, I will not revisitthis decision. I however reserve the right to deal with the content of your correspondence at a later stage if necessary and at the appropriate forum.

The Committee conducts its work in terms of the Constitution and the Assembly Rules. It is guided by the tenets of fairness coupled with its constitutional duty to consider the motion diligently and without delay. Whilst you may not agree with the way the Enquiry has been conducted, it is an ongoing process, and as Chairperson, I remain committed to ensuring that the Committee duly fulfils its Constitutional obligations. I thank you for your interest in the work of the Committee.

Kind Regards,

pp Obres.

Mr Qubudile Richard Dyantyi Chairperson: Committee for Section 194 Enquiry