Committee on Section 194 Enquiry

National Assembly Committee

Share this page:

The Committee was established on 7 April 2021, and has 26 members representing each of the 14 political parties represented in the National Assembly. Only 11 will be voting members of the committee, with 15 non-voting members.


On 21 February 2020, the DA Chief Whip, Ms Natasha Mazzone, submitted a motion to the Speaker of the National Assembly, Ms Thandi Modise, in terms of Rule 129R of the National Assembly rules for the initiation of proceedings, more particularly an inquiry to determine whether the Public Protector should be removed from office on the grounds of misconduct and/or incompetence.

Following the declaration by the Speaker that the motion was in order, an independent panel was appointed to conduct and finalise a preliminary assessment to determine whether there is prima facie evidence showing that the Public Protector has indeed committed misconduct, or is incompetent and to make recommendations in a report to the Speaker.

After gathering evidence and listening to inputs – including some from Adv Mkhwebane herself – the panel said it had found substantial prima facie evidence of incompetence and misconduct – and Parliament could go ahead to form a committee to impeach her. See panel report here.

Guided by the report of the independent panel, the National Assembly decided during a 16 March 2021 sitting whether it agrees with the panel, and whether a Section 194 inquiry should be held or not.

275 MPs voted in support of the establishment of the inquiry, 40 voted against and one abstained. Hansard record here.

There are no committee reports at this time.

There are no calls for comments at this time.

There are no questions at this time.

There are no bills related to this committee.

2021 2 meetings Attendance rate 83%
Detailed attendance data by committee and MP Learn about our Attendance Methodology


Secretaries of Committee:

Thembinkosi Ngoma
Tel: 021 403 3733

Cell: 083 709 8407

Share this page: