Question NW1043 to the Minister of Public Enterprises

Share this page:

02 August 2018 - NW1043

Profile picture: Van Dyk, Ms V

Van Dyk, Ms V to ask the Minister of Public Enterprises

Who appointed (a) Mrs Matseke, (b) Mr Trevern Haasbroek, (c) Ms McMaster, (d) Mr Tshediso Matona and (e) Mr Bansi for their positions on the Alexkor Board?


(a), (b), (d) and (e) Mrs Matseke, together with Messrs Haasbroek, Matona and Bansi were four of six new Non-Executive Directors (NEDs) appointed to the Board of Alexkor at a Special General Meeting (SGM) held on 14 August 2015, by former Minister of Public Enterprises, Ms Lynne Brown. The appointments were done in accordance with clause 13.2 of the Alexkor Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI) which provides that the Shareholder (the Minister of Public Enterprises) shall appoint the Directors of the Company from time to time and in so doing shall endeavour to ensure that the Board shall be appropriately balanced in terms of executive and non-executive Directors, with the majority being non-executive, and shall be representative of gender and race demographics, on the grounds of their collective knowledge, experience and appropriate skills.

Furthermore, the appointments were made in terms of clause 13.11 of the Alexkor MOI which provides for the rotation of Directors and the filling of vacancies on the Alexkor Board. The former Alexkor Board was rotated at the Annual General Meeting held on 14 August 2015, with the exception of Ms Z Ntlangula and Dr R Paul who were re-appointed to the Board at the SGM of 14 August 2015.

Ms Matseke was appointed as Chairperson and NED of the Board, while Messrs Haasbroek, Matona and Bansi were appointed as NEDs with effect from 14 August 2015, for a period of three years, subject to annual review by the Minister of Public Enterprises.

(c) Ms McMaster was not appointed as a Director to the Alexkor Board.

Source file