Question NW458 to the Minister of Transport

Share this page:

08 March 2018 - NW458

Profile picture: Hunsinger, Mr CH

Hunsinger, Mr CH to ask the Minister of Transport

(a) What number of Rail Safety Regulator Level Crossing Technical Committees have been established in each province thus far, (b) what number of the specified committees still need to be established, (c) by what date will the remaining committees be established, (d) why have the remaining committees not yet been established, (e) what are the names of persons who serve in each committee that has already been established and (f) what are their terms of reference?


(a) The RSR established one Level Crossing Technical Committee in each of the nine provinces.

(b) The Free State Level Crossing Committee is currently not functional and has to be re-established.

(c) The Free State Level Crossing Committee will be re-established during the second quarter of the 18/19 Financial Year.

(d) The Free State Committee was established along with the committees in the other provinces, however, due to the restructuring in the Province the Committee only sat for the first meeting. Attempts to convene further meetings were unsuccessful.

(e) Please refer to the Annexure A

(f) Please refer to the Annexure B