Question NW3493 to the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Share this page:

04 December 2017 - NW3493

Profile picture: Lekota, Mr M

Lekota, Mr M to ask the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

What steps has he taken to ensure that all three spheres of government work in the spirit of cooperative governance to mitigate and to prepare coherently for the current and worsening water crisis in the City of Cape Town Metropolitan Municipality?


The Department of Cooperative Governance (DCOG) established a multi-sectoral structure that coordinates the drought and water scarcity situation in the country. The National Joint Drought Coordination Committee (NJDCC) is operational and responsible for the coordination of drought and water scarcity conditions, response and intervention measures. The committee is made up of the following key stakeholders:

    • Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA),
    • Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF),
    • Department of Water and Sanitation (DWS),
    • Department of Rural Development and Land Reform (DRDLR),
    • Department of Health (DOH),
    • Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA),
    • Department of Labour (DOL),
    • Department of Transport (DOT),
    • South African National Defense Force (SANDF)
    • Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) and
    • South African Weather Service (SAWS)
    • Provincial Disaster Management Centres

Additional to the NJDCC, the Provincial Intervention Task Teams (PITT), which comprise relevant organs of state within the three spheres of government, were established to directly engage and consult provinces and municipalities to interrogate their mitigation and response plans and also mobilise resources in line with each organ of state’s mandate. The Western Cape Province was visited and engaged to mobilise resources to address the drought and water scarcity situation. It is important to indicate that the Provincial Disaster Management Centers participates in the NJDCC to ensure proper coordination within sector departments, support to the municipalities and provide progress reports on the situation.

The NJDCC reports to the Inter-Ministerial Task Team (IMTT), led by the Minister of Cooperative Governance, Mr Des Van Rooyen, on drought and water scarcity conditions for political oversight and guidance response and recovery measures within the country. The department further coordinates and ensure integration through the MINMEC structure.

Source file