Question NW4594 to the Minister of Water and Sanitation

Share this page:

15 December 2022 - NW4594

Profile picture: Groenewald, Mr IM

Groenewald, Mr IM to ask the Minister of Water and Sanitation

(1) With reference to his reply to question 2335 on 17 July 2022, what (a) total number of the 77 Water Services Authorities who initially failed to comply with the non-compliance letters issued by his department submitted corrective action plans since June 2022 and (b) are their names. 2) whether he will make a statement on the matter; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details?


(a) Fifteen (15) of the remaining 77 Water Services Authorities (WSAs) have submitted action plans since June 2022.

(b) The following fifteen (15) WSAs have submitted action plans:

  • O R Tambo DM
  • Sunday River Valley LM
  • Kouga LM
  • Beaufort West LM
  • Kannaland LM
  • Matzikama LM
  • Prince Albert LM
  • Swellendam LM
  • Siyacuma LM
  • Tsantsabane LM
  • Merafong LM
  • Lesedi LM
  • Rand West LM
  • Pixley Ka Seme LM
  • Ngaka Modiri Molema DM

Four (4) additional WSA have requested support for the development of the action plan as indicated below:

  • Msukaligwa LM
  • Thaba Chweu LM
  • Emalahleni LM
  • Chris Hani DM

The Department is implementing the Water Services Improvement Programme (WSIP) to strengthen its support and intervention at municipal level based on actual data or most available data, the aim of the programme is to ensure that support and intervention at municipal level is proactive, consistent, and systematic. There has also been concerted effort with SALGA and MISA to assist remaining municipalities with the development and implementation of the action plans.


Source file