Question NW291 to the President of the Republic

Share this page:

26 February 2021 - NW291

Profile picture: Hill-Lewis, Mr GG

Hill-Lewis, Mr GG to ask the President of the Republic

With reference to his categorical statement in April 2020 that he, the Deputy President, Mr D D Mabuza, Ministers and Deputy Ministers will each take a one-third cut in their salaries for three months and that this portion of their salaries will be donated to the solidarity fund, what (a) total number of Members of the Executive honoured the pledge and (b) is the name of each Member of the Executive who did not honour the pledge?


As I said previously in response to a similar question (NW2111E) asked by the Leader of the Opposition on 24 July 2020, the donation to the Solidarity Fund is a voluntary contribution that each Member of Cabinet and Deputy Minister chose to make in support of the national response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Each Minister and Deputy Minister was responsible for making the necessary arrangements to contribute to the Fund.

Source file