Question NW2179 to the Minister of Social Development

Share this page:

04 January 2021 - NW2179

Profile picture: Abrahams, Ms ALA

Abrahams, Ms ALA to ask the Minister of Social Development

(1)Whether, with reference to her department’s Early Childhood Development (ECD) workstreams focusing on a response to Covid-19, she will provide Ms A L A Abrahams with a detailed list of (a) the full names and employment particulars of all persons who make up her department’s ECD workstreams and (b)(i) all dates on which the specified workstreams have met since their formation and (ii) the attendance registers thereof; if not, why not, in each case; if so, what are the relevant details in each case; (2) whether the workstreams recommended that her department should spend R1,3 billion on ECD compliance monitors; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details; (3) whether all members are invited to attend every workstream meeting; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details; (4) (a) what is the purpose of the workstream meetings and (b) how were the specified persons selected to form part of the workstreams; (5) whether the workstreams constitute a permanent body which will consult on ECD matters; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details?

Reply:

(1)(a) The details of the members of each of the nine workstreams (8 workstreams were initially established, with a ninth one on communication established later) that were established, numbered as Annexure A.

(b)(i) Each workstream managed its own process to achieve the objectives of a workstream, under the lead of the workstream leader. The workstreams determined their own meeting dates.

(ii) The meetings of the workstreams under the lead of each workstream leader were held virtually, and as such no signed attendance registers were kept.

(2) No, the workstream did not recommend that R1,3 billion should be used for the appointment of compliance monitors. It should however be noted that initially the Presidency approached the department indicating that the department has been allocated R1.3 billion as a stimulus relief package for early childhood development sector. The department therefore deemed it fit to appoint the compliance monitors to support the ECD sector programmes. Subsequently, national treasury indicated that the department has to bid for the funds for them to be considered for the allocation. The department therefore developed a proposal for bidding of funds. This proposal was consulted with the National Inter-Sectoral Forum for Early Childhood Development established in terms of paragraph 7.3.3.5 of the National Integrated Early Childhood Development Policy (2015) civil society secretariat regarding this programme as announced by the Minister to obtain views and inputs to complete the proposal that was submitted to National Treasury, of which ECD compliance officer is only a sub-component. National Treasury approved an allocation of R588 728 000; allocated for employment risk support that will benefit existing ECD workforce, 25 500 compliance support officers already employed in ECD centres, registration support officers who will support registration of ECD programmes recorded through Vangasali campaign and sustenance of 1 809 social workers who were appointed on contract.

(3) The workstreams were established at the meeting led by the Department of Social Development on 26 May 2020, where-after the leaders of each workstream had to take the responsibility to convene workstream meetings. The Department of Social Development invited all members of the workstreams to the general meetings where feedback was provided.

(4)(a) The below indicated the main purpose of each workstream:

Workstream 1: Data and information on the current situation and the implementation of measures.

Workstream 2: Assessment of ECD services: Covid 19 compliance before and after re-opening (including self-assessment)

Workstream 3: Support package (what is needed to support the re-opening)

Workstream 4: Protocols for re-opening;

Workstream 5: COVID-19 education and awareness as part of early childhood development programmes (for staff and children)

Workstream 6: ECD Programme Re-design (Including parent programmes), looking at adjustments in early childhood development programmes to accommodate the minimum health, safety and social distancing measures to address, prevent and combat the spread of COVID-19.

Workstream 7: Practitioner training and capacity building;

Workstream 8: Monitoring and Evaluation of implementation

Workstream 9: Communication and General COVID 19 awareness.

(b) During the meeting dated 26 May 2020 when the workstreams were established, officials were invited to volunteer to serve on the respective workstreams to facilitate representation based on interest. During this meeting participants also agreed on the leadership for each workstream.

(5) The workstreams were established for the purpose indicated above and were not permanent. The workstreams have served their purpose well and the work assigned to the workstream was concluded by mid-June 2020. The Department of Social Development is continuing to consult with the ECD sector through the civil society secretariat of the National Inter-Sectoral Forum for Early Childhood Development. The latter is the official mechanism established by policy for engagement and consultation with civil society.

ANNEXURE “A”

Membership for the work streams to support the DSD Inter-sectoral ECD COVID 19 Task team

Work stream 1: Data and Information

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Sumaya Hendricks

Nelson Mandela Foundation

SumayaH@nelsonmandela.org

Lead

2.

Robyn Wienand

Preschools 4Africa

robyn@pwap.org.za

 

3.

Jacqueline Saaiman

Lima – Do More Foundation

jackie@lima.org.za

 

4.

Janeli Kotzé

DBE

kotze.j@dbe.gov.za

 

5.

Colleen Daniels

Gerards ECD

gerardsecdcenter@gmail.com

 

6.

Leonard Saul

SA Congress for ECD

congress@global.co.za

 

7.

Mpho Komane

SA Congress for ECD

lttlroses@gmail.com

 

8.

Ivy Rapoo

NDSD

IvyR@dsd.gov.za

 

9.

Ipeleng Mohlala

Early care Foundation

ipeleng@earlycarefoundation.org

 

10.

Phumzile Ndlovu

NDSD

Phumzilend@dsd.gov.za

Member

11.

Huldah Barnard

Custoda Trust

custodaepos@gmail.com

 

12.

Bukiwe Lupindo

DPME

bukiwe@dpme.gov.za

 

Work stream 2: Assessment of ECD services: Covid 19 compliance

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Nabeel Bassadien

Ilifa Labantwana

nabeel@ilifalabantwana.co.za

 

2.

Lyndsey Petro

Innovation Edge

lyndsey@innovationedge.org.za

 

3.

Doreen Malinga

DSD Mpumalanga

DoreenM@dsdmpu.gov.za

 

4.

Andrea Sciarappa

Tools for Schools

andrea@toolsforschool.net

 

5.

Robyn Wienand

Pre school Africa and Jam

robyn@pwap.org.za

 

6.

Rebecca Hickman

SMART START

Rebecca@smartstart.org.za

Lead

7.

Justine Jowell

Smart Start

Justine@smartstart.org.za

Member

8.

Lize Bredell

AECYC

lize@vvos.co.za

Member

9.

Caroll Warmberg

NECTA EC

Caroll@itec.org.za

Member

10.

Tracey Collins

GROW

traceycollins@growecd.org.za

Member

11.

Kathy Rautenbach

ECD Upliftment

kathy@vanilla.co.za

 

12.

Melissa Jacobs

SA Congress for ECD

Jmelissa021@gmail.com

 

13.

Mpho Papale

NDSD

Mphopa@dsd.gov.za

 

14.

Ntombizodwa Sonkayi

 

ntombizodwa@earlycarefoundation.org

 

15.

Natalie Gross

SAMA

nat.rep@samontessori.org.za

admin@samontessori.org.za

Member

16.

Saartjie Viljoen

AECYC

eldoraign@opti-baby.co.za

 

17.

Pheladi Makwala

NDSD

pheladima@dsd.gov.za

 

18.

Badi Mziwamadoda

Ubunye Foundation and NECTA

badi@ubunyefoundation.co.za

Member

Work stream 3 : Support Package

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/ Member

1.

Zaheera Mohammed

Ilifa Labantwana

zaheera@ilifalabantwana.co.za

Lead

2.

Patsy Pillay

New Beginnings

patsyp@intekom.co.za

 

3.

Jennifer McQuillan

Preschools 4 Africa

jennifer@pwap.org.za

 

4.

Jeffrey Wienand

Preschools 4 Africa

jeffrey@pwap.org.za

 

5.

Lisa Voortman

GROW

lisa@growecd.org.za

 

6.

Lizette Berry

Children’s Institute (UCT)

lizette.berry@uct.ac.za

 

7.

Mpho Papale

NDSD

Mphopa@dsd.gov.za

 

8.

Ghalieb Dawood

NT

Ghalieb.dawood@treasury.gov.za

 

9.

Yusuf Mayet

NT

Yusuf.mayet@treasury.gov.za

 

10

Thando Ngqase

NDA

thandon@nda.org.za

 

Work stream 4: Protocols for reopening

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Rodgers Hlatshwayo

SMART STRAT

rodgers@smartstart.org.za

Lead

2.

Jennifer McQuillan

Preschools 4 Africa

jennifer@pwap.org.za

 

3.

Cathy Moore

ACSI

Cathy_moore@acsi.org

Member

4.

Nelie Viljoen-Toet

SAVF

nviljoen-toet@savf.co.za

Member

5.

Mziwamadoda Badi

NECTA EC

badi@ubunyefoundation.co.za

Member

6.

Kathy Rautenbach

ECD Upliftment

kathy@vanilla.co.za

 

7.

Jabu Mthembu-Dlamini

DoMoreFoundation

Jabu.Mthembu-Dlamini@domore.org.za

 

8.

Andrea Scirappa

Tools for School

andrea@toolsforschool.net

 

9.

Colleen Daniels

Gerards ECD

gerardecdcenter@gmail.com

 

10.

Christine Radebe

SA Congress for ECD

matinteradebe@yahoo.com

 

11.

Bombeleni Munzhedzi

NDSD

BombeleniM@dsd.gov.za

 

12.

Natalie Gross

SAMA

nat.rep@samontessori.org.za

admin@samontessori.org.za

Member

13.

Saartjie Viljoen

AECYC

eldoraign@opti-baby.co.za

 

14.

Ntombi Mazibuko

NDOH

Ntombi.Mazibuko @health.gov.za

 

15.

Rebone Ntsie

NDOH

Rebone.Ntsie @health.gov.za

 

16.

Sebotse Ngake

NDOH

Sebotse Ngake @health.gov.za

 

17.

Lesley Bamford

NDOH

Lesley.Bamford @health.gov.za

 

Work stream 5: COVID 19 education and awareness

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Rebecca Hickman

SMART START

 

Lead

2.

Bonginkosi Mpinda

Preschools 4Africa

business@pwap.org.za

 

3.

Christine Radebe

SA Congress for ECD

matinteradebe@yahoo.com

 

4.

Shireen Miller

GrowEcd

shireen@growecd.org.za

 

Work stream 6: ECD Programme Re:design (Parent programmes)

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Andre Viviers

UNICEF

 

Lead

2.

Thandeka Rantsi

Bridge

thandeka@bridge.org.za

Member

3.

Louise Erasmus

AECYC

louise.erasmus9@telkomsa.net

Member

4.

Michelle Wienand

Preschools 4Africa

michelle@pwap.org.za

 

5.

Pam Picken

Do More foundation

pam@leadershipindevelopment.co.za

 

6.

Lizette Berry

Children’s Institute (UCT)

lizette.berry@uct.ac.za

 

7.

Lydia Plaatjies

SA Congress for ECD

plaatjiesl@gmail.com

Member

8.

Prof Nicky Roberts

SA Congress for ECD

nicky@kellelo.org

Member

9.

Bombeleni Munzhedzi

NDSD

BombeleniM@dsd.gov.za

 

10.

Natalie Gross

SAMA

nat.rep@samontessori.org.za

admin@samontessori.org.za

Member

11.

Puleng Motsoeneng

Ntataise

puleng@ntataise.org

 

12.

Liesel Brymmer

AECYC

Liesel.brummer@aros.ac.za

 

Work stream 7: Practitioner Capacity Building

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Ruby Motaung

NECDA

director@tree-ecd.co.za

Lead

2.

Charmaine Botha

Edu X SA

ceo@eduxsa.org

 

3.

Patsy Pillay

New Beginnings

patsyp@intekom.co.za

 

4.

Sheila Drew

SAIDE

sheilad@saide.org.za

 

5.

Bonginkosi Mpinda

Preschools 4Africa

business@pwap.org.za

 

6.

 Bonita Daniels

TEEC South Africa

info@teec.org.za

 

7.

 Arina Kitching

Learn2Live Community Centre 

arinak@oakhill.org.za

 

8.

Leonard Saul

SA Congress for ECD

congress@global.co.za

 

9.

Meraldia Tape

Grassroots Training Provider

maredia@grassroots.org.za

 

10.

Leanne Keet

MASIKHULE

lee@masikhule.org

 

11.

Nontsapo Pasiya

Early Care Foundation

nontsapo@earlycarefoundation.org

 
 

Puleng Motsoeneng

Ntataise

puleng@ntataise.org

 

12.

Mr. Rex Molefe

Motheo Training Institute Trust

rexmotheo@gmail.com

 

13.

Tessa

Browne

Africa Reggio Emilia Alliance

tessa@reggio.co.za

 

14.

Sanny Maluleka

NDPWI EPWP Social Sector

sanny.maluleka@dpw.gov.za

 

15.

Roeleen Lemmer

AECYC

roeleenlemmer@gmail.com

 

Work stream 8: Monitoring and Evaluation

 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Email Address

Lead/

Member

1.

Melissa Jacobs

SA Congress for ECD

Jmelissa021@gmail.com

 

2.

Lydia Plaatjies

SA Congress for ECD

plaatjiesl@gmail.com

Member

3.

Prof Nicky Roberts

SA Congress for ECD

nicky@kellelo.org

Member

4.

Ivy Rapoo

NDSD

IvyR@dsd.gov.za

 

5.

Kathy Rautenbach

ECD Upliftment

kathy@vanilla.co.za

 

6.

Andrea Sciarappa

Tools for School

andrea@toolsforschool.net

 

7.

Bonginkosi Mpinda

Preschools 4Africa

business@pwap.org.za

 

8.

Masego Maselwanyane

NDPWI

Masego.Maselwanyane@dpw.gov.za

 

9.

Nkululeko Kalipa

DPME

Nkululeko@dpme.gov.za

 

10

Kaley Le Mottee

Ntataise

   

11

Charmaine Jooste

AECYC

jooste.charme@gmail.com

 
 

No

Name

Name of Organisation

Lead/

Member

1.

Jeffrey Wienand

Pre Schools 4 Africa

 

2.

Cathy Moore

ACSI

 

3.

Charmaine Botha

EDUxSA

 

4.

Andrea Scirappa

Tools for Schools

 

5.

Mpho Komane

SA Congress for ECD

 

6.

Lydia Plaatjies

SA Congress for ECD

Member

7.

Prof Nicky Roberts

SA Congress for ECD

Member

8.

Mariette van Eeden

AECYC

 

General Issues

Issues:

  • Will extra-mural activities continue;
  • How will aftercare take place
  • How will this be communicated so there is a common message?
  • Suggestion to integrate parent issues across all the work streams.
  • Also to integrate special needs issues across all the work streams.
  • Involving municipalities
  • DSD will send all documents that have been developed to date, including Overall discussion document by UNICEF for dissemination to wider sector.
  • How to adapt ECD daily programmes to allow for social distancing
  • How to encourage and support play under different conditions
  • How to ensure that children experience all the varied play and early learning experiences to support their holistic development
  • Development of play activities, stories, songs and rhymes to help children remember things like handwashing; to help them understand the changes in their daily lives; to help them develop resilience in the context of things they are hearing/experiencing
  • How to fully engage and support parents to provide for their young children’s health, safety, nutrition and development, and involve them in their ECD services

Source file