Question NW1407 to the President of the Republic

Share this page:

13 August 2020 - NW1407

Profile picture: Brink, Mr C

Brink, Mr C to ask the President of the Republic

Whether, with reference to section 3 of the Disaster Management Act, Act 57 of 2002, which provides that certain powers under the specified Act will be exercised by a Minister designated by the President, he designated any Minister in terms of section 3; if so, (a) on what date was the decision made, (b) what is the name of each Minister he designated and (c) for what purpose did he designate the Minister(s) in each case; (2) whether the designation was formally promulgated in the Government Gazette and/or any other formal manner; if not, why not; if so, will he furnish Mr C Brink with a copy of the promulgation or proclamation?


The Cabinet member responsible for administering the Disaster Management Act was designated by President Thabo Mbeki on 25 March 2004 as the Minister for Provincial and Local Government.

The administration of the Act was transferred to the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs by President Jacob Zuma on 22 June 2009.

The respective proclamations are attached.