Question NW262 to the Minister of Basic Education

Share this page:

07 August 2019 - NW262

Profile picture: Ngcobo, Mr S

Ngcobo, Mr S to ask the Minister of Basic Education

Whether she will consider to establish a school violence task team to combat violence in the places of learning that will collaborate with the SA Police Service; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details?


All schools have established School Safety Committees in line with the National School Safety Framework. Each Committee is comprised of internal representatives from the School Governing Body (SGB) School Management Team (SMT), educators and learners. External role players are comprised of representatives from Government Department such as, South Africa Police Services (SAPS), Health, Social Development, Municipalities as well as Non-Governmental Organisations NGO) including Faith-based organisations.

The Department of Basic Education has also entered into partnership with the National Education Collaboration Trust (NECT) to coordinate a wide spectrum of stakeholders through the National School Safety Steering Committee (NSSSC).


Source file