Question NW3753 to the Minister of Water and Sanitation

Share this page:

18 December 2018 - NW3753

Profile picture: Waters, Mr M

Waters, Mr M to ask the Minister of Water and Sanitation

(1)      (a) How often does her department conduct inspection visits to sewerage processing plants throughout the country, (b) what are the dates of the latest inspections at each sewerage plant, (c) which plants failed to meet minimum standards and (d) what action was taken in each regard; (2) whether she has been informed of the allegation that 50 000 litres of sewerage flows into our rivers every day (details furnished); if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, (a) what action is her department taking in this regard and (b) which municipalities are the biggest culprits in this regard?


(1)(a) The Department prioritizes sewerage plants that were found to be critical in terms of their operation and monitors them quarterly.

(1)(b) The latest inspections were done in the previous quarter.

(1)(c) Refer to Annexure A for the list of plants that failed to meet the minimum standards in the last quarter (July-September 2018).

(1)(d) Refer to Annexure B for the Non-Compliance letter issued by Northern Cape Provincial operations for Siyathemba LM associated with the following WWTW refer to:

  • Prieska WWTW
  • Marydale WWTW
  • Niekerkshoop WWTW


2. The Department is aware of these media reports; and, is dealing with this non-compliance through routine inspections of these wastewater treatment works and through administrative action where non-compliance occurs.


Annexure A

List of Plants which failed to meet the minimum standards in the last quarter (July-September 2018):

  • Tugela Ferry WWTW
  • Rosendaal (Mautse)WWTW
  • Winburg WWTW
  • Steynsrus WWTW
  • Wesselsbron WWTW
  • Heilbron WWTW
  • Ekangala WWTW
  • Rooiwal East WWTW
  • Rooiwal North WWTw
  • Flip Human WWTW
  • Zongesien WWTW
  • Senwamokgope WWTw
  • Elandskraal WWTW
  • Groblersdal WWTW
  • Jane Furse WWTW
  • Moroke Mecklenberg WWTW
  • Motetema WWTW
  • Tubatse WWTW
  • Musina Singelela WWTW
  • Thohoyandou WWTW
  • Balfour WWTW
  • Grootvlei Eskom WWTW
  • Grootvlei Mine WWTW
  • Siyabuswa WWTW
  • Ferrobank WWTW
  • Riverview WWTW
  • Kriel WWTW
  • Ruitspruit WWTW
  • Delmas WWTW
  • Botleng WWTW
  • Waterval Boven WWTW
  • Belfast WWTW
  • Kwazamokuhle WWTW
  • Blinkpan WWTW
  • Brits WWTW
  • Lethlabile WWTW
  • Delareyville WWTW
  • Atamelang WWTW
  • Wolmaranstad WWTW
  • Leeudoringstad WWTW
  • Rulaganyang WWTW
  • Warrenton WWTW
  • Jankempsdorp WWTW
  • Douglas WWTW
  • Griekwastad WWTW
  • Hopetown New WWTW