Question NW3672 to the Minister of Basic Education

Share this page:

14 December 2018 - NW3672

Profile picture: Alberts, Mr ADW

Alberts, Mr ADW to ask the Minister of Basic Education

(1) What number of schools in Gauteng in each year since 1 January 2014, (a) (i) were built and (ii) should have been built and (b) what are the relevant details for the specified results; (2) whether, if the results are negative, existing single-medium schools will be forced to include learners speaking other languages so that such schools will eventually become dual medium schools; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details?



1. (a)(i) The table below indicates the number of planned schools and schools built since the 2014/15 financial year.

Financial Year


Schools Built

School Name




1. Munsieville Primary School

2. Iketleng Primary (Hammanskraal) School

3. Nellmapius Primary School

4. Phomolong Primary School

5. Oos Rand Secondary School

6. Buhle Park Primary School

7. Fochville Secondary School

8. Magaliesburg Secondary School

9. Freedom Park Secondary School

10. Naturena Primary No. 2 School

11. Slovoville Primary School

12. Imphendulo Primary School

13. Rosslyn Primary School




1. Chief A Luthuli Primary School No.2 

2. Christiaanville (Montana Poort Primary School)

3. Doornkop (Obed Mosiane Primary School)

4. Etwatwa Primary School

5. Evans Park Primary School

6. Glen Vista Primary School

7. Kaalfontein Secondary School

8. Khutsong South Primary School

9. Mahareng Secondary School

10. Nellmapius Ext.6 Primary School

11. Palmridge Secondary School

12. Protea Glen Primary School

13. Ratanda Bertha Gxowa Primary School

14. Soshanguve East Secondary School 

15. Soshanguve Primary School

16. Tswelapele (Andrew Mapheto Primary School)




1. Bophelong New Secondary School

2. Ga-Rankuwa Primary School

3. Mokone Marupeng Primary School

4. Moses Kotane Primary School

5. Nellmapius Secondary School

6. Nomzamo Madikizela Mandela Primary School

7. Sinenhlanhla Primary School

8. Wierdapark Primary School




1. Olievenhoutbosch Sec No.2/Seshegong Sec School

2. Everest Primary School

3. Menzi Primary school

4. Julius Sebolai Primary School

5. Marotola Primary School

6. Nokuthula Special School (LSEN school)

(ii) Please see (i) above.

(b) The Department has a backlog in relation to the new and replacement schools, that is perpetuated by the constant influx of learners into the province. The Department has not achieved all its targets related to building schools, as indicated in (a) above, due to a number of reasons that have had an adverse impact on the delivery of schools. These include but not limited to:

• Budgetary Constraints;

• Under perfomance by contractors;

• Community disruptions; and

• Inclement weather.

2. The Department will not be forcing but engaging and encouraging the existing single-medium schools that have received a sufficiently large number of learner applications for admission, to offer additional languages and thereby become dual-medium schools. It must be noted that the process is guided by, amongst others, the number of applications to a school.

Source file