Question NW2540 to the Minister of Transport

Share this page:

20 September 2018 - NW2540

Profile picture: De Freitas, Mr MS

De Freitas, Mr MS to ask the Minister of Transport

With reference to his reply to question 458 on 8 March 2018, (a) who are the members of the respective Railway Safety Regulator Level Crossing Technical Committees in each province, (b) how were the members selected, (c) what criteria was used to select the members, (d) who selected the committee members in each case and (e) what is being done to ensure that all committees are functional going forward?


a) Kindly refer to the attached Annexure A for a list of members of the Level Crossing Technical Committees in each province.

b) Invitation letters were sent to provincial Heads of Departments, requesting their departments’ participation in the level crossing committees. The letters further requested the HOD’s to nominate suitable personnel to attend the meetings. Refer to Annexure B

c) Refer to (b)

d) Depending on the agenda items for each committee, the committee would often identify more stakeholders to be invited to future committee meetings based on their role. An example of this would be identifying and inviting representatives from the Traffic Police, which would then assist with law enforcement pertaining to motorists and pedestrians when crossing a level crossing.

e) The organisation is currently in the process of resuscitating the committees across the country, with regions spear-heading the process. Gauteng had its first meeting for 2018 on 31 August. The meetings will be held quarterly.