SABC Board vacancies: Committee Report on shortlisting of candidates

This premium content has been made freely available

Communications and Digital Technologies

08 September 2022
Chairperson: Mr B Maneli (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

Tabled Committee Reports

The Portfolio Committee on Communications convened in a virtual meeting to consider the subcommittee recommendations on shortlisted candidates for the SABC Board vacancies and to adopt the Portfolio Committee report on the shortlist.

The final shortlist had 36 candidates (18 female and 18 male), adhering to the principles of inclusivity as well as skills, experience and expertise needed on the Board.

The report was adopted with no objections and the interviews were scheduled to be conducted from 13 to 16 September 2022.

Meeting report

The Chairperson welcomed the Members and reminded them of the policy for virtual meetings – all microphones were to be muted when not speaking and the chat function was to be used for points of order.

He said a Subcommittee report on the recommended shortlisted candidates for the SABC Board vacancies would be presented for consideration and adoption by the full Portfolio Committee for release to the public.

In the course of Subcommittee work during the day, outstanding matters needed to be resolved. The first issue involved a candidate who reported to one of the Committee Members that he was excluded from the candidate list, but it was later discovered that he had not submitted his application on time. The advert clearly stated the cut-off time for applications and that late applications would not be accepted.

With the evidence that was presented and the letter of appeal by the concerned applicant, the Chairperson was satisfied that the candidate’s application was submitted two days after the cut-off date and would not be considered. If new information was presented, it would be handled at that point, but the Committee had the duty of protecting the fairness of the process and respecting those that adhered to the advert.

The second issue involved the addition of candidates to complete the shortlist and the absence of a Member of the IFP because of connectivity issues which led her to being unable to place additional candidates on the shortlist. After consultation with the different political parties and their Chief Whips, it was concluded that when the list was presented, it would still adhere to the principles agreed to in the Subcommittee.

Some of the principles included considering current serving Board members, the principles of inclusivity, and the skills, experience and expertise that would be needed on the Board.

The Chairperson asked the Committee Secretary to read the report and the Committee would make the necessary changes at the end if there was a need.

Progress Report of the Portfolio Committee on Communications on the filling of vacancies on the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) Board,

The Committee Secretary read the report.

The Committee considered the recommendation made by the Subcommittee and resolved to recommend that the following candidates be shortlisted to be interviewed for the constitution of the SABC Board:

Ms Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi; Mr David Maimela, Mr Jack Phalane; Dr Renee Horne, Prof Sathasivan Cooper; Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba, Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi, Ms Sandika Daya, Ms Cynthia Stimpel, Adv Tseliso Thipanyane; Mr Quentin Green; Mr Mpho Tsedu; Mr Shadrack Bokaba; Prof Franz Kruger, Mr Zolile Zamisa; Mr Langa Zita; Ms Nomazulu Mda; Ms Rearabetsoe Motaung; Mr Khathutshelo Ramukumba; Mr Thembisa Fakude; Ms Ntshwareng Bapela; Ms Phathiswa Magopeni; Ms Nwabisa Matyumza; Mr Lance Rothschild; Mr Kingdom Moshuenyane; Mr Paris Mashile; Dr Oscar Van Heerden; Ms Aifheli Makhwanya; Mr Lumko Mtimde; Ms Palesa Kadi; Mr Zolani Matthews; Ms Thandeka Gqubule-Mbeki; Ms Fundiswa Skweyiya-Gushu; Ms Magdalene Moonsamy; Ms Yvonne Yolelwa Sikhunyana; Ms Lindiwe Jacqueline Maepa; Ms Mandisa Titi.

The interviews were scheduled to be conducted from 13 to 16 September 2022.

Mr T Gumbu (ANC) wanted to know how many candidates made the shortlist.

The Chairperson said there were 36 candidates (18 female and 18 male) and asked for a mover and a seconder for the adoption of the report.

Ms D Kohler Barnard (DA) moved for the adoption of the report and was seconded by Ms A Mthembu (ANC) and the report was adopted with no objections.

The Chairperson thanked the Members for spending their entire day working on the shortlist and was happy that they managed to complete the work.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: