ICASA Council vacancies: shortlisting of candidates

This premium content has been made freely available


11 February 2020
Chairperson: Mr B Maneli (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Portfolio Committee met for the adoption of the report on the filling of vacancies in the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Council (ICASA). This followed a previous engagement held by the sub-committee to fulfil its duty of short-listing 20 candidates for the Council, as mandated by the Minister of Communications and the Acting Speaker of the National Assembly.

One of the five vacancies was as a result of the removal of Mr Rubben Mohlaloga as a Councillor and Chairperson of ICASA. The remaining four vacancies would arise in April 2020 as a result of the end of term of the following Councillors:

Mr Paris Mashile
Ms Botlenyana Mokhele
Mr Peter Zimri
Dr Keabetswe Modimoeng.

The Secretariat presented the full list of the 20 short-listed candidates which would be published for public comment alongside the curriculum vitae of all candidates. The Committee adopted the list of agreed candidates. Interviews were scheduled to commence on 25 February.

Meeting report

The Chairperson explained that the sub-committee had met previously that morning to perform the short-listing of 20 candidates for the filling of vacancies on the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) Council. The Secretariat presented an interim report on the filling of the five vacancies.

The Subcommittee unanimously agreed on the short-listing of the following 20 candidates:

Ms Botlenyana Mokhele
Mr Peter Zimri
Dr Keabetswe Modimoeng
Mr Edmond Baloyi
Ms Yolisa Kedama
Mr Ashraf Patel
Mr Sipho Tsotetsi
Ms Sandisiwe Ncemane
Ms Zamokuhle Khanyile
Mr Junior Khumalo
Dr Charles Lewis
Mr Zolani Matthews
Ms Dikeledi Mushi
Ms Nompucuko Nontombana
Mr Lebogang Bopalamo
Mr Kenilworth Choeu
Ms Amanda Cuba
Adv Luthando Mkumatela
Mr Phosa Mashangoane
Mr Linden Petzer

Following its adoption by the Committee, the list of candidates would be published and shared with the public. The Curriculum vitae of the candidates would be uploaded on the Parliamentary website and would be available for public comment until 24 February 2020, before interviews commenced. A report on public comments would be tabled to the Committee by the content advisor.

Interviews would be conducted on 25, 26 and 27 February 2020 at Parliament.


The Chairperson requested that the criteria used to identify and justify short-listed candidates be included in the report to ensure clarity on what informed the decisions of the Committee.

Ms A Mthembu (ANC) moved the adoption of the report.

Ms N Kubheka (ANC) seconded the adoption of the report.

The Chairperson declared the report adopted by the Committee.

The meeting was adjourned.  

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: