Election of Committee Chairperson

Social Development

02 July 2019
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee convened to elect its Chairperson. Mr M Gungubele (ANC) was nominated. Ms B Masango (DA) nominated herself as Chairperson. Due to the fact that there was more than one nomination, as the Rules of the National Assembly stipulate, the decision went to a vote where Mr Gungubele received the most votes. He accepted and was declared Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Social Development

The incoming Chairperson welcomed and thanked Members for the appointment. He provided assurance that he would not be representing the African National Congress but the Committee in general, which is multi-partisan.

The Chairperson stressed that much work was needed to be done over the next few weeks in order to pass the budget.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson
The Committee Secretary, Ms Lindiwe Ntsabo, introduced herself and the Committee Content Advisor and proceeded to welcome everyone to the meeting. Ms Ntsabo outlined the Committee would be electing its Chairperson per NA Rule 158 which states the Committee must, among its members, elect a Chairperson within five days after Committee membership has been announced. The Committee Secretary then outlined the nomination and election procedure. The Secretary would call for nominations from the floor, if there is one nomination that person would be declared as Chairperson of the Committee but if there is more than one nomination, the names of the nominees would be put to a vote by show of hands.

Ms Ntsabo proceeded to call for the nominations. 

Mr M Gungubele was nominated by Mr D Stock (ANC). The nomination was seconded by Ms M Mvana (ANC).

Mr Gungubele humbly accepted the nomination.

Ms B Masango (DA) nominated herself and was seconded by Ms T Mpambo-Sibhukwana (DA).

By show of hands Mr Gungubele received six votes and Ms Masango received three votes.

Three Members abstained from the vote

Mr Gungubele was official elected as Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Social Development by majority vote.

Following the vote, Ms Ntsabo outlined the responsibilities, powers and tasks of the Committee Chairperson. Ms Ntsabo also announced that the next meeting of the Committee, for budget purposes, will be 3 July 2019, at 10h00.

Chairperson’s remarks 
The newly elected Chairperson expressed gratitude towards all Members who elected him to the position.

He thanked Members for the appointment and provided assurance that he would not be representing the African National Congress in the Committee but the entire Committee itself, which should help all people in South Africa.

The Chairperson called for everyone to work together with the best interests of all South African people in mind. He requested everyone read over the Social Development Committee Legacy Report drafted by the Fifth Parliament so that the current Committee would avoid making the same mistakes.

The Chairperson requested all Members introduce themselves. This was done.

Ms A Abrahams (DA) requested that the next meeting of the Committee be moved to Thursday, 4 July 2019.

The Chairperson stressed the schedule of the Committee was tight could not be changed.

Members congratulated the Chairperson and bade him well for his new position. 

The meeting was adjourned. 



No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: