Election of Chairperson

Share this page:

Meeting Summary

Report of the meetinThe Committee convened to elect its Chairperson. Mr S Somyo (ANC) was nominated unopposed as Chairperson of the Committee. He accepted the nomination of Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Auditor-Generalg to follow.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

The Acting Committee Secretary, Mr Ben Kali, officially opened the meeting and welcomed everyone present. He announced that he was standing in for the Committee’s Secretary and proceeded to call for nominations.

Ms B Mbinqo-Gigaba (ANC) nominated Mr S Somyo (ANC) as Chairperson of the Committee. Mr O Mathafa (ANC) seconded the nomination.

There were no further nominations or oppositions.

Mr Somyo accepted the nomination.

Chairperson’s remarks

The Chairperson thanked Members for nominating him as Chairperson of the Committee. He assured Members that he would do his utmost best to represent all Members in the Committee fairly. The Committee would be working closely with the Auditor-General of South Africa to ensure that holding departments accountable was deepened.

The Committee would need to also work very closely with SCOPA (Standing Committee on Public Accounts).

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: