Election of Chairperson

Public Accounts (SCOPA)

02 July 2019
Chairperson: Mr M Hlengwa (IFP)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee unanimously elected Mr M Hlengwa (IFP) as the Chairperson for the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

Members congratulated the incoming chair and committed themselves to working with him.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

The Committee Secretary called the meeting to order and welcomed members.

The Committee Secretary explained that Rule 158 of the Rules of the National Assembly required him to preside over the election of a chairperson and then hand over the chair to that person. He then called for nominations.

The first nomination was given by Mr MA Dirks (ANC), who nominated Mr M Hlengwa (IFP).

This nomination was seconded by Ms B Zibula (ANC).

Mr Dirks motivated his nomination by pointing out the admirable characteristics possessed by Mr Hlengwa such as his objectivity, leadership skills, credibility and his ability to successfully and aptly hold members to account when necessary.

There were no objections, no further nominations, and Mr Hlengwa accepted his nomination as Chairperson.

The newly elected Chairperson addressed the Committee by thanking them for his election.

The Chairperson asked the Committee to voice any concerns or raise any points they may have.

Committee remarks

Mr M Hendricks (Al Jama-ah) said that he was impressed with all the checks and balances put into place by Parliament to ensure efficient financial governance and management, but questioned the presence of the Zondo Commission.

Ms B van Minnen (DA) congratulated the Chairperson on his election.

Mr R Lees (DA) said that there lies a huge responsibility on the shoulders of the Chairperson and that he hopes the Chairperson is free to perform his duties without pressure from the majority party, or from his own party. He believed that the Chairperson had the capacity to perform his duties in line with its Constitutional requirements, but that the DA will hold him accountable if he failed to do so. 

Mr S Somyo (ANC) said that the ANC is committed to the functionality of the Committee and will thus be supportive of the Chairperson in all aspects of his leadership role.

The Chairperson thanked the members for their remarks and said that he is looking forward to working together at as a team in order to unravel the web of corruption which they find themselves in. The Chairperson ended off by saying that he is confident that through their work as a Committee, the South African public will regain confidence in them and their ability to account for funds.

The Chairperson thanked the Committee.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: