Shortlisting of candidates to be interviewed for appointment to the SA Human Rights Commission

This premium content has been made freely available

Justice and Correctional Services

05 October 2016
Chairperson: Dr M Motshekga (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee met to shortlist candidates to be interviewed for apointment to the South African Human Rights Commission.  The Committee shortlisted 18 out of 80 of the applicants and agreed that the interviews would be held on 13 and 14 October 2016.

Meeting report

Opening Remarks
The Chairperson said that the purpose of the meeting was to shortlist candidates for the human rights commission and it was important to engage with civil society and not just make political appointments. The list of candidates with their CVs was made available to the public on the parliamentary website.

At the last meeting, there was a suggestion to interview 21 people and another to interview 15. The Committee should not be dogmatic, but should rather give interested people a fair opportunity to compete for the position and that the interests of all the political parties were taken into account, as well as the public since the successful candidates would be serving them.

Shortlisting of candidates to be interviewed for appointment to the SA Human Rights Commission
Committee Members shortlisted 18 candidates out of the pool of 80 applicants for interviews to be held on 13 and 14 October 2016.

The candidates were;
Professor F Cachalia School of Law, University of Witwatersrand (Wits).
Advocate B Malatji, Commissioner, SAHRC.
Advocate L Mushawana, Chairperson and Commissioner, SAHRC.
Professor B Majola, former Assistant Secretary General, United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (UNICTR).
Mr J Sibanyoni, Practicing Attorney/Lawyer.
Ms A Ramgobin, Executive Director, Human Rights Development Initiative (HRDI).
Mr A Nissen, Director, National Sea Rescue Institute.
Professor N Ntlama, Associate Professor of Public Law, University of KwaZulu Natal.
Ms L Mokate, Commissioner, SAHRC.
Ms J Hicks, former Commissioner, Commission for Gender Equality (CGE).
Professor B Meyersfeld, Associate Professor, Wits Law School, and Director of the Centre for Applied Legal Studies, Wits Law School.
Ms D Jana, Lawyer.
Mr K Govender, Consultant Attorney, Trishal Sharma Attorneys.
Advocate A Gaum, Parliamentary Liaison Officer to the Deputy Minister of Home Affairs.
Ms M Makwetla, Chairperson, National Arts Council.
Mr S Chalklen, Consultant, Almodon Engineering Consultancy: Accessibility and Universal Design Consultant Dubai.
Ms P Moodley, Director: Legal Administration, Department of Justice, KwaZulu Natal Regional Office.
Ms N Loyilane, Chairperson, South African Disability Development Trust, and Chairperson, Eastern Cape Disability Economic Empowerment Trust.

After the 18 names were shortlisted, the Chairperson said that the list would be sent to the National Assembly for prescreening and verification of qualifications. The names would then be made available on the parliamentary website for the public to comment and add their recommendations.

The Chairperson said that the wisdom of all the Committee members was needed and that they should all be present on 13 and 14 October 2016.

The Chairperson asked members to prepare and set standard questions so that candidates were not discriminated against, but rather asked fair questions and given an equal opportunity.

The meeting was adjourned.



Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: