Promotion of Equality & Prevention of Unfair Discrimination Bill [B57-99] - Bills and submissions

This premium content has been made freely available

Justice and Correctional Services

03 January 2000
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

A summary of this committee meeting is not yet available.

Meeting report

Promotion of Equality & Prevention of Unfair Discrimination Bill [B57-99]

Summary of Submissions
List of Submissions
Programme for Public Hearings
Committee Membership

List of Submissions

Advertising Standards Authority of South Africa
Afrikaanse Handelsinstituut
Aids Law Project
American Chamber of Commerce in South Africa
Attachè: Sign Language School
The Banking Council
Black Sash
Boshielo, Abram
British Chamber of Business in Southern Africa
Business South Africa
Caras Trust
Commission on Gender Equality
Deaf Federation of South Africa
De Villiers, J
Ditshego, Steve K
du Toit, Paul
Emmie Germishuys vs Plascon Automotive Ltd
Durrheim, Prof. K (University of Natal-PMB)
Equality Alliance
Federation of Unions of South Africa
Financial Services Board
Freedom of Commercial Speech Trust
Freedom of Expression Institute
Focus on Elder Abuse
Free Market Foundation of Southern Africa
Gender Project, Community Law Centre
Gender Research Programme, Centre for Applied Legal Studies
General Council of the Bar
Griffin, Garth
Hayes, Craig & Taryn
Human Rights Committee of South Africa
Humphries, Gretchen
Johannesburg High Court
Koinonia Centre
Institute of Retirement Funds of Southern Africa
Labour Project, Centre for Applied Legal Studies
Life Offices Association of South Africa
Bham, M : Legal Advisor
Mabe, M
Malamulela Social Movement for the Unemployed
Mathebula, S
Msolomba, Victor C R
National Association of Broadcasters
National Coalition for Gay and Lesbian Equality
National Institute for Public Interest Law and Research
National Newspapers
Ndlovo, Musa Gibson
Nkadimeng, T
Paynter, Alan
Print Media Association
SAPS Area Commissioner, East Rand
South African Chamber of Business
South African Council of Churches
South African Human Rights Commission
South African Institute of Race Relations
South African Insurance Association
South African Jewish Board of Deputies (Cape Council)
Winnie Mandela Residents Association
Women's Legal Centre & Socio-Economic Rights Project, UWC

Programme for Public Hearings:
Monday, 22.11.99
09:00 Tea and Introductions
09:15 Community Law Centre (Gender Project)
10:30 Women Legal Centre
11:30 Black Sash
12:30 CARAS
13:00 Lunch
1 4:00 National Coalition of Gays and Lesbians
15:00 IDASA
1 6:00 Free Market Foundation

Tuesday, 23.11.99
09:00 Tea and Introductions
09:15 SA Human Rights Commission
10:30 Banking Council
11:30 SA Council of Churches
SA Jewish Board of Deputies
CALS: Gender Research Programme
13:00 Lunch
14:00 Print Media Association
National Newspapers
National Association of Broadcasters
Freedom of Commercial Speech Trust
Advertising Standards Authority of SA
Freedom of Expression Institute

Wednesday, 24.11.99
09:00 Tea and Introductions
09:15 Commission on Gender Equality
10:30 Gender Research Programme: CALS
11:30 FEDUSA
12:30 Business South Africa
13:00 Lunch
14:00 Law Society of SA
Cape of Good Hope Law Society
Cape Bar Council

Thursday, 25.11.99
09:00 Tea and Introductions
09:15 Human Rights Committee
10:15 Equality Alliance
11:15 DEAFSA
12:15 AIDS Law Project
13:00 Lunch
14:00 SA Insurance Association
Life Offices Association
Financial Services Board
Institute of Retirement Funds of SA

Friday, 26.11.99
09:00 Tea and Introductions
09:15 COSATU
CALS: Labour Project
11:00 SACOB
12:30 American Chamber of Commerce
British Chamber of Business

Chairpersons: Mr M V Moosa, Ms N G W Botha
Secretary : Ms Nhlanhla Masina
Tel: 021 - 403-3852/3707
Fax: 021 - 461-7969

Committee Membership:

Chairpersons: Mr M V Moosa, Ms N G W Botha

National Assembly:

Botha, N G W;
Davies, R H;
De Lange, J H (Alt);
Gomomo, P J;
Grove, S P;
Hanekom, D A;
Holomisa, S P;
Jana, D P S;
Jeffery, J H (Alt);
Langa, Z;
Maine, M S;
Marshoff, F B (Alt);
Moonsamy, K;
Mpehle, M;
Ndou, R S;
Njobe, M A A (Alt);
Pieterse, R D;
Ripinga, S S (Alt);
Skhosana, W M (Alt);
Tsheole, N M;
Turok, B;
Twala, N M.

Smuts, M.

Ndabandaba, L B G.

New NP
Camerer, S M.

Swart, S N.

Van Niekerk, A I.

Aucamp, C.

Rajbally, S.

National Council of Provinces:

Lucas, G A Northern Cape
Makoela, M I Northern Province
Moosa, M V Gauteng
Ntlabati, S N Free State
Ntwanambi, N D Western Cape
Suka, L Eastern Cape
Themba, M P Mpumalanga
Willem, B Eastern Cape

Raju, N M KwaZulu-Natal

Vilakazi, J N KwaZulu-Natal

New NP
Witbooi, J Western Cape

Qokweni, P G Eastern Cape

Tlhagale, J O North West

Bill as certified


No related


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: