Election of Chairperson

NCOP Finance

25 June 2014
Chairperson: Mr C De Beer (ANC; Northern Cape)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Secretary of the Committee, Mr Z Rento assumed the role of Chairperson (Acting) as she facilitated the process of the election of a new Committee Chairperson. Mr C De Beer (ANC) was nominated to be the Chairperson of the Committee. He asked that all Members introduce themselves.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

The Committee Secretary welcomed Members to the meeting and explained that he would be facilitating the process of nominating the Chairperson for the Select Committee on Finance during the fifth term of Parliament.

The Committee Secretary outlined the procedure which would be followed for the election of the Chairperson. He explained that a call for nominations would be opened; if there was only one nomination, no voting would take place and the person so nominated would be declared Chairperson. However, if there was more than one nomination, the names of the nominees would be put to a vote by a show of hands. At the end of the vote the nominee with the majority of the votes would be declared Chairperson. Members would only be allowed to vote once. The Chairperson (Acting) proceeded and called for the nomination of the Chairperson.

Ms T Motara (ANC) nominated Mr C De Beer (ANC) to be the Chairperson of the Committee.

Mr T Motlashuping (ANC) seconded the nomination.

The Chairperson (Acting) asked whether there were any further nominations. There were no other nominations therefore Mr C De Beer (ANC) was nominated as the Chairperson of the Select Committee on Finance.

The Chairperson thanked Members for the nomination.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: