Election of Chairperson

Small Business Development

25 June 2014
Chairperson: Ms N Bhengu (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee met briefly to elect a Chairperson. Ms N Bhengu (ANC) was elected the first Chairperson of the newly formed Portfolio Committee Small Business Development.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

Mr King Kunene, Committee Secretary, welcomed all the members appointed to serve on the Committee. He explained the election and voting process. Thereafter, he called for nominations.

Mr X Mabasa (ANC) nominated Ms N Bhengu to be the Chairperson. Ms T Mahambehlala (ANC) seconded the nomination. With no other nominations and objections, Ms Bhengu was duly elected as Chairperson.


Members of the Committee introduced themselves to one another, all highlighting the importance of the new Committee.

The Chairperson urged Members to attend the training workshops so that they could be well equipped to deal with the budget votes which had to be done by the end of July. She added that the Committee programme would be finalised by the time the Committee met again.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: