Election of Chairperson

Economic Development

24 June 2014
Chairperson: Ms E Coleman (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Committee met breifly to elect a Chairperson. Ms E Coleman (ANC) was elected unopposed to the position.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson
Ms Noulthando Skaka, Committee Secretary, explained that her task was to facilitate the process of electing the Chairperson of the Committee in terms of Rule 129 of the National Assembly Rules. After the process the newly elected Chairperson would take up his/her seat. She informed Members that the Committee was established in 2009 where it was mandated to ensure that the Department of Economic Development and its entities were effectively implementing key government policies such as the New Growth Path, the Industrial Policy Action Plan, the National Development Plan and the National Infrastructure Plan.

She explained that the procedure which would be followed for the election of the Chairperson was that there would be a call for nominations and a seconder from the floor. If there was only one nomination, no voting would take place. The person nominated would be declared Chairperson. If there was one nomination, the names of the nominees would be put to a vote by a show of hands, at the end of the votes, the nominee with the highest votes would be declared Chairperson. Members would only be allowed to vote once.

Ms Skaka made a call for the nomination of the Chairperson for the Portfolio Committee on Economic Development.

Mr M Cele (ANC) nominated Ms E Coleman (ANC) to be the Chairperson of the Committee.

Dr Z Luyenge (ANC) seconded the nomination of Ms E Coleman as the Chairperson of the Committee.

Ms Skaka asked whether Ms Coleman accepted the nomination.

Ms Coleman accepted the nomination.

Ms Skaka asked whether there were any further nominations. There were no further nominations therefore Ms Coleman was congratulated on her appointment as the Chairperson for the Portfolio Committee on Economic Development.

Opening Remarks by Chairperson
The new Chairperson thanked Members, especially those from the African National Congress (ANC) for the confidence shown in her to be the Chairperson of the Committee once again. She welcomed new Members as well as the returning Members to the Committee. She expressed that she was quite humbled by the opportunity. She explained that because of the restructuring which took place within the Department some changes within the Committee should also be expected. The functional changes which took place within the Department would therefore also necessitate some changes within the Committee. A briefing from the Department was expected in the next few weeks. She explained that the Committee had an important role to play with regards to the growth and development of the country. The Committee also had a role to play in addressing the triple effect challenges of poverty, unemployment and inequality, which ordinary South Africans were faced with.

The New Growth Path and the National Development Plan were key in addressing such challenges. She emphasised that as the Committee moved forward in robust discussion, respect for all individual parties was crucial. She asked that all Members introduce themselves.

The Chairperson said the Committee would be considering Annual Reports by the end of next week.

Mr S Marais (DA) asked that copies of Budget Vote 28 be made available to Members at the earliest possible date.

The Chairperson noted the suggestion. She thanked Members for their contributions.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: